We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trying too hard to reinvent itself”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #28 of 106 Restaurants in Southern Pines
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“trying too hard to reinvent itself”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have eaten at outback for years & always liked it. Recently, though, the portions are smaller, but the prices seem to keep going up. They serve the food on clunky big plates so it appears that you're getting more. My husband hates the plates. You can't rest your knife on the side. He was so irritated last visit that he vowed to not come back for "a long time". The hostesses act like they're doing you a favor when they seat you & it seems to be a "game" with them that they seat the older patrons who have difficulty walking as far away as they can. Come on, use a little common sense & don't make them walk to the back of the restaurant when there is close in seating. They keep trying to seat my husband and me at a small table when there are plenty of open boothes then act like it's a big favor to seat us at a comfortable booth instead of the dinky table. Things like this make for an uncomfortable restaurant experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyDogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Enjoy Outback”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good food and good service, especially like their steaks. You can call ahead and not have to wait, friendly staff, good atmosphere, reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outback”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Typical of other Outback restaurants. Good food and bar, but it is a chain. Go there fairly often for a casual meal We love the Aweson Blossom!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Price was right”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to get the $15.00 special, soup, salad, entree, and desert. For the price it was great, especially the creamy onion soup. We are seniors living on SS so we don't order drinks of any kind, just water with lemon.

We were there the Friday night before Labor Day, when we arrived were told 1/2 hr to 45 min wait unless we wanted to eat outside where we could be seated immediately. Well we looked for a table and there were none except for a table for 6. Asked if we could share the table and we met a wonderful couple. When the waitress came by she said she had pushed two tables together because she was the only one working outside and we really should not have sat there! Another waiter was finally sent out and things went along fine after that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seals4mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better menu, and more choices to change order to best fit what you like to eat”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Got table at bar area with no waiting. Drink orders were quick an appetizers were great ( grilled shrimp ). Ordered Alice Springs Chicken and rib combo. Portions were disappointing. Very small, first plate had wrong chicken but replaced quickly. Service was friendly and responsible. Price was decent at first but accordIng to serving size they were priced according to amount served. Three ribs cut and maybe a half chicken breast. But taste was there really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankiemoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 
Southern Pines, NC
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing