We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun time with friends and golf instruction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Needles Resort and Country Club
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun time with friends and golf instruction”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from a week of Golfari and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Ross Lodge which had four bedrooms with a large common area where we had much laughter. Our rooms overlooked the instruction area and the first fairway. They were very clean and comfortable.

Our instruction was excellent, the teachers are top notch.

The food was good, especially the fried chicken. I would not call it fine dining but you do not go hungry; it is more comfort food.

I plan to return with my husband and friends.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jlramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
26
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have been lucky enough to visit the Pinehurst/Southern Pines area of North Carolina twice in the past 30 days and have split my time between the Pinehurst Resort and Pine Needles/Mid Pines. The staff, the food, the value, and the golf
found at Pine Needles and Mid Pines far surpasses anything you will find five miles to the West. The newly renovated Mid Pines is both challenging and fun and the golf at Pine Needles is pure Donald Ross. If you are visiting the area do not let the marketing machine that is the Pinehurst Resort lure you in, resist the temptation and instead head over to Pine Needles and Mid Pines, you'll be happy you did! Pinehurst is great and you will pay for it, but Pine Needles and Mid Pines feels like home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3boys2girlfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I just returned from my second annual trip to Pine Needles Resort in Southern Pines, NC. Although I went for the excellent golf school, directed and starring former LPGA player, Donna Andrews, I also thoroughly enjoyed the Resort. It's very true that it is rustic and a bit quirky, but the setting is beautiful and serene. This time we stayed in the Putter Lodge and had a room on the third floor. We thought the view and accomdations were worth it, but there aren't any elevators. Bellmen are available, but you have to ask. Our room had two queens with a fridge and table for 4 on the first level AND a loft with two twins (which are private from each other) and a second full bath. From our balcony, we could see at least two fairways and the practice facility. The pine trees are as plentiful as they are beautiful. Dogwoods and azaleas are also present. The food is not fine dining, but it's quite good. The service staff is universally friendly and willing. The golf course is terrific -- but look out for the greens which are very challenging. Be aware that the presence of a golf academy can lead to slower play in the afternoons. In my view, it's a great value -- not luxurious, but plenty comfortable and relatively affordable.

Room Tip: The Putter Lodge is right next to the Reception/Bar/Dining Room/ Pro Shop. We had #148.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretMGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

two stories for this golf resort.

The room and meal plan requires some flexibility from the guest. We have recently returned from a 5 nignt golf with meals plan. Its our 2nd stay at the resort. The rooms are rustic , clean, and comfortable. But you will encounter some quirks, There is a mini frig. but no ice machine near the lodge we stayed at. upon request we were given a dag of ice to put in the frig. after a day it was a solid block that had to be chipped . The coffee maker was located in a place that was hard to pour water into the brewer. The service staff is very friendly and they try to please,but something is wrong with the service. For example at the breakfast buffet which is very good the egg , and carving station guy would go missing. Many things go wrong but the charm of the staff makes up for the inconvience. Dinner was ok not great,in fact we went to another place on two nights for dinner even though our meals were included.

If you love old classic golf courses this is the place. We love both courses but this trip was not as much fun as the other times we played there. Play was slow 5 to 5:30 hour rounds. Guests of the resort seemed to have no better tee times than day players. I am also irked that a small group of friends paid $150 a day less than I paid for the same package. They played a week before me.

I would play the courses again but I will not book the resort package. You need to be flexible and laugh off the uneven service and quirks.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pratice range
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
264 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed there for a golf academy school. Normally I don't care much about how the accommodations are, but given the competition in the surrounding area (namely Pinehurst), I would have expected more from the resort. The room was probably very nice back in the 70s or 80s. The problem is that the room hasn't been updated since then. Since I did not see any other rooms I don't have much else to go by other than my own personal experience. One positive was my bed was quite comfortable.

The dining room and lounge fit the rustic scenery much better than my room. The food was very good. Perhaps the time of year that I visited (Mid-March) was not a fair assessment of how nice the resort could be, but given that I've been to Pinehurst, and have seen what they do in order to make visitors feel welcome, I would say that Pine Needles has some catching up to do.

Service was good. Dining service very good. Not much pleasantry from the front desk personnel. Didn't interact with any other staff.

Room Tip: The resort is set up with several split-level homes, that have been converted to 4-5 rooms per home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was grand and interesting,the room was clean but needed some updating. My only big criticism: the room was very warm, the ac did not work, even with windows open and outside temps at a cool 40, the room remained to warm for a comfortable night sleep. The hotel did finally provide a portable fan which did help. Also this hotel is walk up,no elevator, not a problem for us but do consider this if you have some handicap that prevents walking up stairs. All in all , a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
378 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First of all, I give everyone who works here that we came across 5 stars for helpfulness, service and friendliness. The people staffing the check-in desk graciously reworked our package plan when we had to leave after only 2 nights, instead of the reserved 3. The bartenders, dining room manager and waitstaff were all so friendly and attentive. They all made us feel truly welcome.
We had 2 dinners in the dining room (one a special New Year's Eve multi-course meal). Veggies were well prepared and fresh. My sirloin steak the first night there was a bit on the rare side instead of medium rare as ordered, but nevertheless it tasted very good. My husband's prime rib on New Year's Eve was definitely too rare, for he ordered it medium. After he sent it back, it was more cooked, though still a bit underdone. Good flavor, though.
The breakfast buffet each day was just all right. Our made-to-order omelettes both had an off-flavor; the danish weren't as good as they looked, but the coffee was plentiful and flavorful.
Maybe because it's winter, the main lodge reminded me of a ski resort - lots of wood on the walls, fireplaces, comfy chairs and sofas. All in all, a very pleasant, historic-feeling atmosphere.
Our king room in one of the nearby small buildings was, well, drab. Lots of brown, beige, tan; dark furniture, small windows, dim lights, cluttered. As other reviewers have pointed out, it badly needs renovation. The furniture, wood on the walls, and inexpensive woodwork are nicked and gouged. The bed was comfortable, however, and we were given 2 brand new non-feather pillows when we asked for something without feathers.
We wish they offered a king-size bed in an upgraded room, but those rooms only have 2 doubles or queens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Pines
1.5 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.8 mi away
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Needles Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Needles Resort and Country Club

Property: Pine Needles Resort and Country Club
Address: 1005 Midland Rd # 88, Southern Pines, NC 28387-3121
Location: United States > North Carolina > Southern Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Needles Resort and Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fragrant pine forest of North Carolina, you will find an experience unlike any other: For nearly a century, golfers have reveled in the serene ambiance of Pine Needles and Mid Pines Resorts. Two 18-hole Donald Ross designed resort golf courses have earned us our place among the country's best golf resorts – and one to which our guests and USGA Championships return to time and again. We deliver brilliant golf paired with southern hospitality in a casual atmosphere right here in beautiful North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pine Needles Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Needles Resort And Country Club Hotel Southern Pines
Pine Needles Hotel Southern Pines
Pine Needle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing