We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in a small town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snow Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benjamin W. Best Country Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #1 of 1 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend in a small town”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I had a great time at this B&B. We stayed in the carriage house, which was an entirely separate small house just to ourselves. We were served sweet tea while we read our books on the porch after we arrived and were offered a golf cart to explore the farm. We were given excellent recommendations for dinner and drinks that night in nearby Kinston and in the morning had a FABULOUS breakfast of homemade yogurt and granola, bacon, eggs, grits, biscuits and muffins. This B&B was a great find. Extremely hospitable, comfortable lodging and delicious food! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My son and I had spent a wonderful night with Betty. We stayed in the Carriage House and enjoyed staying not only at a beautiful historic inn, but also a working farm. We even met the cows. Our breakfast of traditional southern fare was wonderful (especially the homemade biscuits). She made some great recommendations for how to spend the rest of our weekend on the crystal coast and all of her suggestions were spot on. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Not everyone will like staying on a working farm in Snow Hill, NC, but it was great for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latta, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this beautiful B&B and wished we had booked several more nights. Mary Betty and Ossie were the we perfect hosts. It was like being with family. Breakfast was delicious! We didn't have much time to really looked around on the farm, but we did get a tour of their home which is absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the carriage house. I highly recommend this place to everyone that I talk to. We're looking forward to going back and spending several days/nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with a group of bridesmaids the night before the wedding, and we loved the Carriage House! It's in an absolutely beautiful location, and is a working farm that you can explore a bit of with the golf cart they have for guest use. Mary Betty was a very kind and thoughtful host, making sure we always had everything we needed and she made one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. The bacon and sausage they raise and make themselves was so delicious! The peaceful location made this a very relaxing stay, and I'd love to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank omega_dtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a wonderful, quiet New Years Eve at Benjamin Best Bed and Breakfast in Snow Hill, N.C. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was amazing. We have lived in smaller places. Separate living room and bedroom and fully equipped kitchen. Beautiful furniture. Ossie and Mary Betty are perfect hosts. We felt like we were visiting family. Delicious farm breakfast with sausage raised on the farm. We even left with a box of their all-natural Nooherooka , hormone and antibiotic free beef. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snow Hill
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kinston
Hampton Inn Kinston
#1 of 7 in Kinston
473 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
#1 of 11 in Goldsboro
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The O'Neil Hotel
The O'Neil Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinston
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin W. Best Country Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin W. Best Country Inn and Carriage House

Property: Benjamin W. Best Country Inn and Carriage House
Address: 2029 Mewborn Church Rd, Snow Hill, NC 28580-8895
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Snow Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing