We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do in Sneads Ferry”
Review of Riverview Cafe

Riverview Cafe
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Sneads Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Carlisle, PA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must Do in Sneads Ferry”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant has very diverse menu based on fresh catch today. They are very willing to prepare food to your preference (grilled, broiled vs fried). I got sauteed scallops and it was a huge portion-excellent. Went back for grilled mahi which was also outstanding. Try hush puppies with tartar sauce and small amount of hot sauce - awesome!! Vegetable choices are slim but the seafood is the highlight of the meal anyway. Find another restaurant if you want salad bar and veggies. Very warm, friendly staff. Will definitely return here when travels take us anywhere close to Sneads Ferry - I would drive out of my way to have those scallops again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Luv2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    156
    65
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, West Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Definite Must If You Are In The Mood For Seafood”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice atmosphere and the staff is very helpful and courteous. They start you out with a huge bowl of hushpuppies. You can order individual items from the menu or get 1 to 6 seafood items. They are a little pricey, as they charge an extra $1.50 for EACH broiled item and an extra $2.00 for EACH item that is out of season. I ordered 2 orders of broiled sea scallops and was charged an extra $3.00 for broiling and $4.00 for out of season. However, the food is excellent and they have very generous portions. Their fried shrimp is some of the best I've had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cerberus2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Deep Deep Fried”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want it greasy this is the place! This kind of like a calabash type food. Not a buffet, but the same batter dipped and fried to death food. What is it with old line southern restaurants that think no one has taste buds.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sbrooks126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place! Highly Reccomended! Great Food!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Awesome food, great people, awesome! we love the scallops, they are wonderful. Be ready for fried food, lots of calories, big portions. Get the sweet tea, it is wonderful!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Local Seafood”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My meal included grilled salmon stuffed with crab meat, fried zucchini, hushpuppies, and coleslaw. The hush puppies were the best I've had in my life being both sweet and savory at the same time. The grilled salmon was also very flavorful and had a very nice balance of fresh taste as well as spices. The crab meat was good, however it was not cleaned properly and still had some of the harder inner claw bits and pieces inside of it. The fried zucchini and coleslaw were also good. I started the meal with some clam chowder that was not up to par. It had big pieces of potatoes and bacon; very little clam. It wasn't horrible but it was not among the best I've ever had. The pie for dessert was absolutely decadent. It was a lemon meringue that was very rich and had a great taste.

This restaurant is definitely a local favorite. There were not many people at the restaurant when I went, but those who were there and those who came in spoke in a friendly fashion to the staff almost like they were family. The service was great as my food came out quickly and the staff was very hospitable even to an out-of-towner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loco_Norteno_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Cafe also viewed

Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
 
North Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Riverview Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing