We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A viable option in Smithfield, for the most part”
Review of Super 8 Smithfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Smithfield
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We generally spend a night in Smithfield each year, since it's a convenient stopping place on our way back from Hilton Head Island, plus there's pretty good outlet shopping there. We have stayed at the Best Western, Sleep Inn, and Jameson (see my review, will never be returning there), but got a decent price on the Super 8 this year, so we thought we would branch out a bit.

Unlike some Super 8's, this is a regular motel with a lobby, interior hallways, and an elevator. I see that many Super 8's are motor lodge type properties, which I don't like.

The check in was smooth and the staff was perfectly friendly. The hotel had a small indoor pool, which I intended to use, but once I saw 8 people in it at once, I realized it was over capacity already. I didn't notice a workout room anywhere.

The room was clean and perfectly fine. There were two queen beds instead of two fulls, which no other hotel chain in Smithfield seemed to offer, so that was a plus. There was a flat screen TV that didn't offer too many channels for some reason (although it did offer Showtime, which I don't see in hotels too much). The hotel was quiet and there was no highway or train noise that was so bothersome down the block at the Jameson.

Breakfast was included, but it was insufficient to keep us from having to stop somewhere else. The highlight appeared to be a waffle machine, but my daughter didn't like the waffle. There was a small seating area that was full so we took our "meals" to a table in the pool area. The fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast offerings seemed smaller than competing hotel breakfasts.

Overall, the room was fine, the value was good, and the hotel got the job done. Considering the insufficient breakfast, I would still give the nod in Springfield to the Sleep Inn and the Best Western. The Holiday Inn Express looks fine too, although more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawknoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

You certainly covered "all the bases" in your recent review of our property..so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to your comments about the TV channels I have good news. We recently switched providers and have added a lot of channels including HBO. I'm sorry your daughter didn't like our waffles but did she try our Super Start Cinnamon Buns? We appreciate you taking time to complete our survey. Be safe in your travels and we hope to see you again soon. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank GERALD M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
xit95i95, Manager at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JAMES C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JEFFREY W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JESSE E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

clean, adequate, pet-friendly room. Mattresses and sheets could be better quality, but basically comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank VICKI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

It hasn't been that long since we got new mattresses and we are constantly putting new linens on our beds, so, I was a little surprised to learn of your concerns. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I will definitely have the Head Housekeeper take inventory of these items and see what we can do. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable. Next time you come I hope you will join us for our Super Start Breakfast. It is very nice and we even have homemade waffles! Thank you for staying with us. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CATHERINE M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Smithfield
0.2 mi away
Best Western Smithfield Inn
Best Western Smithfield Inn
#1 of 10 in Smithfield
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, Smithfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Selma
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Smithfield
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Smithfield

Address: 735 Outlet Center Dr, Smithfield, NC 27577-6015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Smithfield
#3 Family Hotel in Smithfield
#4 Business Hotel in Smithfield
Price Range: $65 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Smithfield 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Carolina Premium Outlets. Within walking distance to Starbucks, Outback, Bob Evans, Ruby Tuesday and Texas Steakhouse. Free SuperStart Breakfast. All rooms equipped with microwave/fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer & iron/board. Super Start Breakfast with hot waffles, yogurt, cheese, cereal, Cinnamon buns, sausage biscuits and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Smithfield Hotel Smithfield
Super Eight Smithfield
Smithfield Super Eight
Smithfield Super 8 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing