We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”
Review of Super 8 Smithfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Smithfield
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was a little leary when my husband made a reservation at Super 8 for one night on our way back to New Jersey from Florida. We got to the hotel at 10pm and I was very pleasantly surprised. The front desk person by the name of Dennis was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and well maintained. My impression of Super 8's were motels with truck drivers and and outdated rooms. But this was actually a hotel with rooms inside and an indoor pool. We had no problems with kids since it was late when we arrived. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boo1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety62, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
It is so nice to hear from our guests when they leave. Thank you for your compliments! You said you would definitely stay with us again so we will look forward to your next visit. Be safe in your travels. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    404
    116
    30
    14
See reviews for
497
330
116
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2011

After a long, traffic-ridden drive down 95-S from DC, I decided to stop at a hotel in NC for the night and finish the rest of my journey in the morning. All I wanted was: 1) a clean, peaceful room and 2) good wireless to do a few things on my laptop. I saw the great reviews for Super 8, liked the lower rate, and decided to give it a whirl.

I wish I'd paid a little more and stayed across the street!! (Or better yet, just finished my drive home.)

The hallways smelled smoky, my room felt musty, there were stains on the couch, the lock was broken, there was a ton of noise from 95, the internet was sssssnail slow, and the walls were so thin I had to listen to the couple next door argue for 20 minutes before finally calling the front desk to ask for another room. (She said they were all booked, but she did drop by and ask them to quiet down -- hence the 3 stars for service.)

The location is very convenient and it seems like a good place for families with young kids (they were everywhere!!) because of the indoor pool. For a weary, solo traveler looking for a peaceful night, however, I would NOT recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing away from 95, no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizzy_bennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety62, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
I read your review of your recent visit with us. I am so sorry your stay was not satisfactory. I apologize for the smokey halls and musty room and anything else that bothered you. We will do everything we can to correct those problems. I hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way back to the Philadelphia area from our vacation spot in South Carolina. Many families with kids stop over here because they have an indoor
pool which is constantly crowded and we could not get in the pool as a result. The room was comfortable and spacious and all the amenities were in order. The breakfast was fine.
I could hear the families and all the kids in the next room talking thru the walls .

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga springs
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We spent one night based on my friend's recommendation on our return trip from FL to NY. I have stayed in more expensive places which were not nearly as clean and comfortable. From our initial reservation phone call through check out, the staff was very professional and friendly. I noticed that the morning desk person was very diligent about keeping the breakfast area tidy (wiping spills, etc) and well stocked. It is obvious that customer service and satisfaction are very important to management. We look forward to our next vist and highly recommend !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmac031845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Wow, thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure having you as a guest! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be coming back to see us again. We appreciate your business. Hope to see you soon. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The location of the hotel is right off 95. The room was pleasant and clean. For some reason they have adopted the style of putting the tub/shower and WC in a separate room with the sink outside on a facing wall. I find that just personally off putting. The beds are quite soft so if you need a film mattress you are out of luck. Our room had a small fridge and microwave plus the obligatory coffee pot. A train runs through the area but is far enough away who can only hear the whistle which I enjoyed. The place was packed and I suspect it was travelers going either from FL to the north or just the reverse. The outlet stores are nearby if you have the energy to shop as are a number of restaurants. We enjoyed a family run Mexican restaurant just steps from the hotel. I suspect on my next trip I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to compliment our property on Trip Advisor. We value you as a guest and customer satisfaction is our number 1 goal. We are happy you plan to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntigntown
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is the best Super Eight we have stayed at ever. It was more like a Hampton Inn.
The room were large and very clean. The people at the front desk were as good as anyone we have encountered at any front desk. The only thing was the the internet connection was slow. I did not eat breakfast there but it was reasonable if not as complete as a Hampton. It was in a great location near the Outlets. We will stay there again.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our property. It was our pleasure having you as a guest. Yes, we are conveniently located off of I-95 and sometimes our internet is a little slow. I am sorry for that inconvenience. Our rooms are "super" clean, as you stated, due to the fact we have an excellent housekeeping staff. We hope to see you again soon. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 3 times, it was always clean, beds are comfortable. the last time we stayed there around 12.29.10, they even put zipped mattress covers for box-spring and mattresd, so we know at least there were not bed bugs, and clean. The breakfast included was very good, fresh waffle. We will stay there again in Feb. 2011 when we drive from Florida to NY. I will definitely recommend this place for anyone who just want simple clean place to stay overnight. I am a nurse and am very fussy about cleanliness, and yet I am very satisfied with this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy040Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
It was so nice reading your review on our property. Thank you for noticing our recent upgrades!
We strive to keep everything current and take all precautions for our guests comfort and safety. We look forward to seeing you again...Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Smithfield
0.2 mi away
Best Western Smithfield Inn
Best Western Smithfield Inn
#2 of 10 in Smithfield
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, Smithfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Selma
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Smithfield
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Smithfield

Property: Super 8 Smithfield
Address: 735 Outlet Center Dr, Smithfield, NC 27577-6015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Smithfield
#3 Family Hotel in Smithfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Smithfield
#4 Business Hotel in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Smithfield 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Carolina Premium Outlets. Within walking distance to Outback, Bob Evans, Ruby Tuesday and Texas Steakhouse. Free SuperStart Breakfast. All rooms equipped with microwave/fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer & iron/board. Super Start Breakfast with hot waffles, yogurt, cheese, cereal, Cinnamon buns, sausage biscuits and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Smithfield Hotel Smithfield
Super Eight Smithfield
Smithfield Super Eight
Smithfield Super 8 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing