We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were on our way to Virginia Beach and decided to stop in Smithfield. This was the first motel off 95 so that is where we stopped. We should have known to turn around just by the condition of the driveway into the parking lot. Check in was outside through a window. It was almost impossible to hear the desk clerk through this window. When we finally go the room we were all the way on the end. We got into the room and could not put the lights on. The light switches did not work. We had to get into the room and put on the bathroom light and the lights by the bed to get some light. There was also about a 2 inch gap between the bottom of the door and ground. Besides letting in outside light I am sure it let in all sorts of bugs from outside. The bathroom was disgusting....crumbling plaster, moldy shower curtain and moldy odor. The beds were uncomfortable and lumpy. The bedspread and blankets were stained. The carpets were dirty and stained. Outside our back window was all sorts of equipments....saw horses, bags of sand, big barrels, black tar like stuff, etc. This was not a good place to stay. Dirty and badly in need of a major renovation and cleaning. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitacarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear anitacaro,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you experience you encountered during your stay regarding the outside equipment and room cleanliness. We were having some work done on our parking lot at the time. The workers were using the equipment. The equipment has since been removed. We have recently trained our housekeepers to improve the overall cleanliness of the rooms. We feel these corrective measures will help improve the overall experience for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Henna-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Howard Johnson's in Santee and thought this would be the same. It was not.
The price was very good; however, the room was sadly in need of renovation. It was clean but there was a moldy smell. All the furniture and bath fixtures were chipped.
Also, we could hear the people in the next room watching television.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear Traveler,

I greatly appreciate the fact that you have placed a review about our hotel. I apologize for any negative experience you had with us when we were a Howard Johnson. I have recently joined Americas Best Value Inn, one of the fastest growing hotel chains in the country to better serve the needs of my future guests. We hope to see you again in the future.


Sincerely,
Henna-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was the exit we decided to get off for the night on the way back from Florida. And it's the first hotel off the exit.

The room was very large and had a large screen TV on the wall. The bed was extremely comfortable for an I-95 motel. And was okay for the price. It's not the Ritz, but it's worth the price. Would stay there again if the need arose.

Only complaint was that I felt I was being watched by the manager as we were loading the car.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

well i been staying for years but it went down but its looking better under new management so it will take time to get things up and going people was real nice had one thing wrong but they went out of there way to fix it will be staying again every year thanks so much

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Billy2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

My family and I were on our way from Florida to Connecticut. We drove until about 1am when we decided to take a break and tried to get some sleep. We got off the exit and headed for the first hotel we came across which just happened to be the Howard Johnson Inn Express. When we pullled up to the office , the desk clerk was sleeping on the couch. After several minutes of banging on the door he finally got up. We asked if there were any rooms and the price. The price was $45.00. So with it being so late and everyone being tired we took it. Well when we walked into the room the smell of urine was so bad. There was mold on the back of the shower curtian the tiolet paper was dirty. It was so disgusting. We all slept on top of sheets in our cloths. The next morning we tried to talk to desk clerk but he or she was no where to be found. So i am warning you DO NOT STAY THERE !!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kindredsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Please people, I beg of you. Do not stay at this hotel. My mother and I were visting relatives in the area and decided to stay at a hotel for the night. I knew we were in trouble from the moment we arrived--you could barely see the hotel from the highway. When we got to our room, my mom went in to "inspect", I was afraid to get out of our car. We I finally got the nerve to enter the room I was shocked at what I saw. The bathroom was dirty and moldy. The sheets looked as if they had not been washed...well...EVER!!! I was afraid to sit down on the bed, much less sleep in it! The room smelled bad and everything was dirty and disgusting. We ended up leaving and finding a better hotel nearby for almost the same price!

There is NO reason to stay at this hotel. It is located near really nice hotels nearer the Carolina Outlets.

Luckily for us, Travelocity refunded all of our money.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thundercat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We'd be using the Howard Johnson in Smithfield for years-immediate family in the area. Hadn't stayed in about 4 years. It's become a dive! There were people there that were using it as public housing-they had their laundry stung out on a line. There were animals-cats and dogs-milling around by the rooms. One person had left their pickup truck door wide open for a dog to sleep. We got into the room and it was gross. The smell of urine was overpowering. There was mold inside the small fridge in the room. They had patched holes in the curtains with duct tape. Needless to say-we checked back out pronto. Notified HJ headquarters about the conditions-told they it was now a independently own hotel now. I told the rep they should revoke their franchise-they aren't keeping it up to HJ standards at all..

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NYCampingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Selma
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Smithfield
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Smithfield
Super 8 Smithfield
#4 of 10 in Smithfield
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Goldsboro
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Kenly
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Smithfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 197 Mallard Rd, Smithfield, NC 27577-7103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Smithfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $40 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, part of Johnston County, NC, located along the Neuse River. Our hotel's advantageous location allows you a gaze into the past at the Johnston County Heritage Center, Hinnant Family Vineyards and Winery, Tobacco Farm Life Museum of North Carolina. Whistle "dixie" as you "march to the beat" of our forefathers at Bettonville Battlefield. Relive the glamorous life of a big screen legend at the Eva Gardner Museum. Shop until you drop at Carolina Premium Outlets or TWM Antique Mall. Bask in the sun at Cobblestone Community Pool or Tucker Lake Recreation. Chipotle, Bob Evans, Ci Ci's Pizza, Applebees, Zaxby's, Hibachi Grill, Texas Roadhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesdays,Mucho Mexico and Smithfield's Chicken*n BBQ are also sure to please.Our hotel offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast and a free cup of coffee. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool or have your children frolic at our on-site playground. Step into our guest rooms and experience absolute relaxation with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat screen plasma cable TV, hairdryer, iron (upon request), ironing board, desk with lamp, wake-up service and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing