We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”
Review of El Sombrero - CLOSED

El Sombrero
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
555 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped for lunch. The food was good and served quickly. The service was great. Prices were good. We have been in a couple of times when we have been in the area. Never disappointed. Will stop again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AVERAGE AT BEST”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

although the service was warm and inviting, the fun stopped there. The chips & salsa were seriously lacking in flavor. The kids burrito was covered in marinara sauce, which my kids would not eat. The fajitas for 2 were served on an oval cafeteria plate, no sizzle and no taste. My margarita tasted like 16 oz of sour mix. Overall a huge disappointment after reading the other reviews. Do not waste your time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Writing again about this good restaurant”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The owner does himself proud with this restaurant. I have tried two of the Jorge specials, Chicken with Spinach and Pollo con Chorizo which are both better than the usual Mexican entrees at any Mexican restaurant. The enchiladas and fajitas are also good. Of course, there is a bar and the good value beer prices are prominently displayed. The restaurant is in a strip mall on the industrial drive close to the Carolina outlet mall next to a Super 8 inn. We always stop here on our way down South on 95, NC exit 95 or 97.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Oh we will be back...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had spent most of the afternoon at the outlets less than one mile away. We voted that Mexican Food would be good so GPS brought us to El Sombrero. It is in a little strip mall and it so much bigger on the inside than it appears. We arrived at 4 PM on a Saturday and there were a handful of other diners. We were greeted and seated promptly. The menu had some interesting choices. The husband and I both ordered Las Brisas Chicken. The best Mexican chicken dinner I have ever had, and I lived in El Paso for a few years. It was incredible. Came sizzling hot from the kitchen with soft flour tortillas. And as a bonus, they serve coke products :). No room for dessert. The meal was $10.95 and truly could have served 2 people. Great food, great price, great service and diet coke makes it 5 stars to me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMHO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare Inexpensive and good service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On our trip to Florida we were looking for quick meal but not fast food. This restaurant off I95 at exit 95 in a strip center. The food is surprisingly good with pleasant service. This is not one of those large chain places but single owner who is very pleasnt

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingbonedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing