We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent NC-Style Pulled Pork and More”

Smithfield's Chicken'n Bar-B-Q
Ranked #1 of 7 Quick Bites in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Eat in or carry-out, it was worth getting a bit off the Interstate to try North Carolina-style BBQ. Slightly spicy and vinegar-based rather than tomato-based, the pulled pork was excellent. Staff is friendly and accommodating. The dinning room has a nostalgic and fun decor that includes a complete lavatory for hand washing and a neon sign. Prices are reasonable - had a large helping of pulled pork, slaw, potato salad, and wonderful hush puppies for less than $10 with a soft drink.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DelMarVaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 174 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

Super friendly service. Great value. Had the BBQ sandwich value meal for $6.99. Decent southern BBQ.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017

We go to Smithfeilds twice a year when we visit family in NC. The BBQ pork sandwich is awesome, so is the fried chicken the service is excellent the restaurant and bathrooms are spotless.

Smithfeilds is a must if you visit NC.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lawsb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

We stopped by to grab a good NC BBQ sandwich on our way back home to Northern VA. It's one of our favorite spots. We had a sandwich there and then I asked for the large BBQ picnic to go--a pint of BBQ, a pint of slaw and some hush puppies. They even packed the BBQ and slow in ice for the rest of our trip home. My family was so excited when I arrived aha showed them my "prize!" Wonderful food and wonderful service.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank HavePileWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

We frequent Smithfield's Chicken'n Bar-B-Q pretty often. Today I went thru the drive-thru and got the chicken tenders, fries and sweet tea. The chicken tenders had the best flavor and were cooked perfectly.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tammiew101416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield's Chicken'n Bar-B-Q also viewed

Smithfield, Johnston County
Smithfield, Johnston County
 
Smithfield, Johnston County
 
Smithfield, Johnston County
 

Been to Smithfield's Chicken'n Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing