We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Diner

Diner
Ranked #25 of 87 Restaurants in Smithfield
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Benson, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

A great place to have breakfast or lunch. Daily specials such as meatloaf. Home cooking! Desserts. Good service. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great southern style food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We took a detour off I-95 to visit the Ava Gardner Museum in Smithfield, NC. We enjoyed that visit and then looked for a place to have lunch. Right across the street was the "Diner". We went in, read the "specials" on the board, and took seats in the unassuming dining area. We both decided on the country ribs special, which included 2 sides. I had the mac & cheese and baby lima beans; and my wife had the grilled squash and green beans. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Both meals also came with a hunk of cornbread. What more could you ask for! If I lived in that quaint town I'd be having lunch there every day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbinsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Daily Lunch Specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Diner is known locally for its daily lunch (meat and 2 veg) specials such as Meatloaf, Baked Spaghetti, Fried Flounder on Friday and their Beer Can Chicken. Menu items offered as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
246 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good piece of the old south”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The restaurant had white and black tile floors, the food was very good, and at a very low price with a discount from our museum visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch December 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband had a Cuban sandwich and I had beer can chicken lunch with coleslaw which was very good and the price was right. We both agreed the service was good and food excellent. Restaurant is across from Ava Gardner museum so is in a good location and was able to park in front of diner. We both would go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wally13131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diner also viewed

 

Been to Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing