We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood

Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were met at the door with a friendly hello and we're promptly seated. The menu has plenty to offer and the prices were great. Our food was served very quickly and every bite was outstanding. We'll definitely be returning to try the Family Style all you can eat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PirateMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington Nc
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Southern Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I always stop here if I am in the area! This place is like going to eat at your Mama's or Granny's house , the food is best comfort / southern food you will find in the area. Every dish I have ordered here has been first rate. I do recommend the fried chicken livers, my last dish ordered here. Service ,pricing and menu selection are great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trueeasterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm...good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an excellent place to eat. Prices very good and an excellent selection. They have lunch specials until 2:00 each day. My favorite is the bar-b-cue....no one does it better....staff is very courtesy and service is quick and friendly..... A plus for Smithfield and Johnston County.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbercreek3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, TN
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Mom and Pop Restaurants EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went tonight for the first time and loved it. We will be going back tomorrow, our last day in this area. On Tuesday nights they have all-you-can-eat fried shrimp with two sides. Brunswick Stew is one of the regular sides, and it is delicious! I got boiled potatoes and dipped them in the Brunswick Stew - delish! My husband got potato salad and cole slaw with his shrimp and thought all was very, very good. The hush puppies are good, too. They have specials each day for lunch and different ones for supper. They also have some sides available on certain days, in addition to a large list they offer every day. The all-you-can-eat shrimp with the two sides was $8.00. We may get the pork bbq and white chicken combo tomorrow for $8.00, too. Everything looked really, really good. We may change our minds several times before we get there! Highly, HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rubydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You will leave here STUFFED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

As a fan of North Carolina BBQ and Seafood I went to this place based on the reviews from here and all I can say is you will leave this place feeling like " Mr. Creosote " ( from the monty python movie the meaning of life )
The place has a nice feel to it as you come in, the waitress's are very friendly and make you feel like a local. I ordered the shrimp and scallops with some boiled potatos and turnip greens. I am glad I asked my waitress on the size of the portions because they give you a huge amount of food. The shrimp and scallops were cooked to perfection, the greens had a nice hint of bacon/pork flavor and the taters were ( well just like mom made ) You also get a basket of hushpuppies ( have some by all means but fair warning here they do fill you up ) and to finish it off they give you a nice little bowl of " Nanner puddin " that is just like grandma used to make. I sit here now just wanting to take a nap from being so full ( and my bill was under $15 ) including a nice tip. I highly recommend if you are in the area to stop by this place. When you leave you will not even want a " Waffer thin dinner mint "

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing