We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last one to book full during a baseball tournament FOR A REASON!!”
Review of Days Inn Shelby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Shelby
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
1 review
“Last one to book full during a baseball tournament FOR A REASON!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

While the bed was fairly comfortable, the bathroom was nasty. Toilet leaked into the floor, toilet seat appeared to be painted and it was pealing. Rooms are EXTREMELY small...must go outside to change your mind small. WIFI is practicaly nonexistent. Breakfast is much like the WIFI...Hot milk, cold coffee, kool-aid, stale donuts, 2 despenered generic cereals, SMALL apples and bananas. Nite clerk is creepy, day clerk is foriegn and bedazzled. Pool sign says OPEN but when you get in the clerk runs you out (apparently open = 10am til 9pm) too bad if you aren't here at their convenience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    45
    23
    29
See reviews for
74
29
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

When we (5 of us) arrived on July 7, 2011, we were given three separate dirty rooms. There was mold and mildew on the shower curtain and around the tub and tub wall. The toilets were all spotted with urine. the towels & wash clothes were dingy, too. I cleaned the complete unit, bathroom and sink area with pamolive liquid and clorox. After I cleaned each unit I put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on each of our doors for our entire unfortunate, stay. I purchased sheets, pillows and towels. Other hotel/motel facilities were all booked. Also, upon check-in the clerk lied about extending the $5.00 off the first night stay and accepted the three coupon(s). When other relatives checked-in I informed them as well. WE WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Please, pay attention to the ratings. They really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a no-frills motel, and I'm usually okay with that. There were five things that killed this place for me: (1) their free high-speed internet does not have enough capacity for the number of guests with devices wanting to be on the internet. Neither I nor their tech guy could get on the internet in the early evening (not being able to get on the internet was the biggy for me). (2) They do not have any roll-away beds, and with my family of five, that means someone had to sleep on the floor, which was of dubious cleanliness, and any floor is less than comfortable. (3) The upholstered furniture in the room was filthy. I don't mean worn or old, I mean, eeeewww, filthy. (4) The room air conditioning is inadequate to cool the rooms. We checked in at 10:30 p.m. and our room stiflingly hot. It wasn't even pleasantly cool after dinner the next day when the a/c had been on all day. (5) The pool was closed over Memorial Day weekend when it was hot and sweaty and everybody just wanted to get cool. They said it was closed because it had failed the city inspection, which tells me they may not maintain it properly.

The good things: The beds were very comfortable, the room had a microwave and refrigerator, the shower was good and hot, breakfast was average, the room was quiet (no noise from neighbors even though it was fully booked).

Room Tip: Spend an extra twenty and stay at the AmericInn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moats002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

You can tell that there has been an effort to update, but things are still a bit dated. The lack of cleanliness was a problem for me. My husband didn't mind. There were hairs and other debris behind the bathroom door and between the bed and nightstand there were small pieces of trash and candy wrappers. I will say that although the boxsprings were old, the mattresses were excellent! We had a good nights sleep. Take your own pillow and a spray bottle of disinfectant.

  • Liked — The awesome mattress
  • Disliked — The yucky bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowinginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The motel is very dated. But I can live with that. That isn't the problem because when you have travelled extensively you expect these kinds of situations.

The problem was cleanliness. When there is no supervision of the cleaning staff.....or your standards are just that low....you will have problems. I encountered hair stuck to the blow-dryer, surfaces that hadn't been wiped in weeks maybe longer, a pubic hair in the corner of my shower, the finish in the bath tub was lifting/wrinkled, carpet was absolutely filthy, one blanket had possibly fecies right where someone had previously sit.

I was digusted.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank BasballCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

This was our worst stay in a hotel ever. We travel as a family three or more times a year and have rarely had a bad stay anywhere. The rooms were pretty dirty, the management is very mean and disrespectful, there were numerous street workers conducting their business at all hours of the day. In our four day stay I witnessed the management in over five arguments involving guests and their staff. Our children were constantly harassed by the daytime managers and spoken to in a very unfriendly manner when they would visit the vending machines. As a result we are planning legal actions. Do yourself a huge favor and stay clear of this place at least until the management changes.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The Management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wposton723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norheast OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We arrived late the night of our check in and the clerk charged us for one night when I was suppose to pay for two he told me becuz it was so late and we were tired that we could pay for the other nights in the morning. When I went to take care of my bill they told me that we would have to move to another room becuz we didn't pay last night. I had my daughter and two grandchildren with me and that would mean moving alot of our stuff which we didin't want to do, so unhappy with the situation and also being in a room that had broken lamp and shower head, I told the manager that we were not going to stay the rest of the nights and he said FINE. When I got back home to Ohio I found the charges from the nights we didn't stay there. The owner won't return my calls and the corp offfice of Days Inn won't do anything either. So unless you want to stay in terrible rooms and get ripped off DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL. But there is a nice hotel down the road from this Days Inn called the Econo Lodge that was wonderful and the people were really friendly not rude like the owners at Days Inn.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmb8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
2.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
37 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
5.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling...
#1 of 1 in Boiling Springs
97 reviews
18.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Forest City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Shelby

Property: Days Inn Shelby
Address: 1431 W Dixon Blvd, Shelby, NC 28152-5031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Shelby 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing