We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #66 of 96 Restaurants in Shelby
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just another chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good food, clean restaurant, good service....timely with taking your order, nice atmosphere, just your basic chain. Nothing extraordinary, nothing bad either. A safe bet for a reasonably priced, better than fast food restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank weddingmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    5
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

After watching the commericals about Applebee's 2 for $20.00 we decided to visit and try the Chipole Steak! It was awful! I guess you get what you pay for....
The service was BAD! I think the waitress must have taken her break the entire time we were there. The appetizer was good. Chips and dip!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Plain Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

When going to a place such as Applebee's it's normally the same thing as a chain restaraunt. Chains are all the same except if you have good service or bad. The food was always hot, which was a great thing. We have never had to send our food back because of anything. Everything we ordered was always right. The service on the other hand will make you sick. Some servers are very nice along with ONE bartender. They bust there behinds trying to get everything right when there management team doesn't care about anyone or anything. I am not sure who put together the managers for this place but they need to be fired and hire a completly different management crew. Some of the workers are so disgusted with the lack of effort and teamwork. You can tell because it shows on there face. If you want your service to lack and to watch the management team sit around and play on there phones, please be my guest and go. If you are just in the area and can't decide on any where else to go, the food is great, managment sucks. My only advice would be to sit at the bar, that's the only place you get service worth a dime.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acmanus278611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Typical Applebee's menu but done well. Well kept restaurant with friendly staff. A fully stocked bar and carryout service as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

While we only went for coctails the Applebee's in Shelby was a pleasant experience. The bar tender was great and she mixed very good cocktails.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Odella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing