We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better get it in writing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Shelby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Shelby
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better get it in writing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

I made my reservation over the phone & the hotel made the check-in date for Thursday instead of Friday. They charged me a cancellation fee & insisted their reservationist actually remembered me making the reservation 2 months earlier & they didn't make the mistake. Since I had nothing in writing, they refused to remove the cancellation fee.
So like the heading says, Better get it in writing.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
8
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
x
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Hidden from the main road, but well worth the drive. The staff went above and beyond most hotel staff. The room is slightly larger than a standard room, which is a plus. The lobby is pleasant and clean. The breakfast buffett is very good. No complaints here! Even the discount rate I paid through RSI was great.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gavcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a wedding reservation. Was close to areas we needed to get to for the wedding. GPS does not pickup the address well. So hotel can be hard to find. Rooms were adequate and comfortable. Gave us a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyons, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We waited until we got into Shelby after an hour trying to get to the Days Inn our GPS couldn't get us there the adress must be messed up. I beileve this HI was unvailable when I looked online, but a we got a room. I thought it was a little overpriced, with a Corp discount- but we slept very well and the cinnamon buns for breakfast are
awesome! We got a king non smoking, bathroom was small. Originally planned Super 8 but when we pulled in, we turned around (pool is a joke!!!)and started looking for the Days Inn which we never found until the next day. The Holiday Inn is the best choice in town, according a realtor we met up with a little over priced but we slept well.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetcity_woman167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July 2009 while visiting a childhood friend of my wife's. It's a clean, modern model with good service, a free hot breakfast, at a reasonable price. You have to look hard for it when approaching from the east on US 74, it's best to remember that it's at the west end of the local mall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chancey Corner
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

It is refreshing to travel year after year to the same location and meet the same smiling faces, who greet you warmly & genuinely. The staff at Holiday Inn Express of Shelby obviously love their jobs, so that in itself is a testament to what a wonderful place this is. Mia checked us in this year, same as last year; but the most amazing thing is that she remembered us!!! How AWESOME is that??? Mary has served in the breakfast area since the hotel was build 9 years ago and she serves up a wonderful selection of hot and cold items for breakfast. I have to say we were simply astounded at such care, warmth, consistency and cleanliness!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runneroftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

I stayed for about a week on business and the staff was consistently great. The hotel was standard for this brand. The hotel was very quiet, which was particularly important as I was working nights.

The location is the biggest drawback. Shelby is not a big town, but this is definitely on the fringe, and traffic can be surprisingly bad. It's across the parking lot from a mall, but anywhere decent to eat requires a bit of a drive.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lenin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Shelby
Days Inn Shelby
#4 of 8 in Shelby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Affordable Suites Shelby
9.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling...
#1 of 1 in Boiling Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shelby

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shelby
Address: 2001 East Dixon Boulevard, Highway 74, Shelby, NC 28152
Location: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Shelby 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It s Destination Cleveland County for unexpected Historic Treasures and Scenic Pleasures such as Broad River Greenway, Gardner Webb University, Hallelujah Acres, Harvest Works, Firehouse Cook-off and Hurst Jaws of Life,Historic site of a turning point in the Revolutionary War, hometown to Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson.Holiday Inn Express Shelby welcomes you to our 100% smoke free hotel! Shelby, dubbed 'City of Pleasant Living', is convenient to Charlotte, Hickory and Asheville, NC, Greenville and Spartanburg, SC.Take a walk through time; visit our restored & operational award winning antique carousel and train, or enjoy a tour through one of our art galleries or wineries. Holiday Inn Express Shelby is located on Highway 74 adjacent to Cleveland Mall. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool, business center and fitness center on-site. Take advantage of complimentary access to Dover Foundation YMCA and their full service facility. For our guests who Stay Smart , enjoy the Express Start hot breakfast including cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy with biscuits daily from 6:30 AM-9:30 AM, guest reception Tues-Wed-Thurs 6:00-7:30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shelby Hotel Shelby
Holiday Inn Shelby
Shelby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing