We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place for Breakfast”

The Purple Onion Cafe
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Shallotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: The Purple Onion Cafe opened on Main Street in Shallotte in 2004. Since then they have become a community favorite serving locals & visitors breakfast and lunch with a delicious menu of pastries, traditional breakfast items, burgers, sandwiches, soups, salads and desserts.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The service is warm and friendly. The food was just plain breakfast food but VERY good. However, the homemade bread they use for toast is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenLynneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    110
    21
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped by The Purple Onion Café for lunch on our way to Ocean Isle Beach. I wasn't expecting much but once I saw the menu I was pleasantly surprised. The menu was extensive and when our food came it was delicious. I had a turkey bacon avocado wrap & homemade potato chips. The turkey was so fresh & flavorful I couldn't stop eating it. The wrap was huge. Stuffed mostly with turkey so I definitely got my moneys worth. The frosted brownie I had for dessert was amazing. The staff was friendly, polite & very efficient. Our waiter even offered us drinks to go which was a nice surprise. We will definitely stop back on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FacesFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Once again a great lunch at a great restaurant! Kids liked the chicken tenders, salads are great portions, and my wrap hit the spot. The cookies also were excelent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gouldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden find”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Better than the chain restaurants. Open for breakfast and lunch. A
lot of food for the money. Great tasting. Will return next trip south.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburghcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

During summer months, it is not unusual to have to wait for a table here. While you are waiting, it is hard not to be tempted by the selection of baked goods in glass cases in front of you! I have been here for both breakfast and lunch, and everyone leaves happy. For this visit we arrived as the restaurant transitioned from breakfast to lunch. At our table, we had two different salads, both very fresh and nicely presented. One friend ordered a sandwich along with their yummy home made potato chips. You select your choice of homemade bread. Our service was prompt and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoisNCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Onion Cafe also viewed

Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Purple Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing