We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Shotmaker's Course

River's Edge was in excellent shape and the layout is very tough but fair from the different tee... read more

Reviewed September 27, 2020
dstevenson14
,
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Challenging

Played here in November. Course was in good shape. Definitely target golf - no grip and rip it... read more

Reviewed November 8, 2019
Swilcan
,
Illinois
Read all 136 reviews
  
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
68
43
11
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
68
43
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tee boxes in excellent shape lots of water bring lots holes clubhouse revenge deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 136 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

I took a group of 16 golfers on our annual 4 day golf excursion and River's Edge was our final stop this year. Though I had only read online reviews about the course, we truly saved the best for last! The course layout was not only set beautifully along the river, it also provided a fun and challenging day for our golfers. Even the golfers that did not perform as well as they would have liked, still enjoyed the scenic view and uniqueness of the course. I initially choose the course because it gave us a course north of Myrtle Beach that we could hit on our way back to PA (we stayed in North Myrtle Beach) but I got a feeling it will become a recurring course for us.

The pro shop and starter folks were all very friendly and helpful to us, just a slight issue with a ranger telling us at hole 10 to speed it up a little when we had been right on pace and even waiting a little on the groups ahead of us the whole front nine. The only separation at hole 10 was due to our bathroom break at the turn. But overall we were happy with the course personnel and all the clubhouse amenities and food.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone or any groups considering it.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank NHW2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Manager at River's Edge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

NHW2700,

Thank you for the review and we appreciate the compliments in regards to course and staff. I apologize if the starter came off too stern, however, we do encourage all groups keep pace with the group in front of them. Unfortunately, gaps can happen very quickly that will offset the pace of play for the entire day. I will be sure to check with the team member you spoke with to ensure we are not "jumping too quick". With a difficult layout here at Rivers Edge, Pace of Play is our main focus aside from serving our guests. Again, we appreciate your review and your business. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2016

This course is worth the travel. 6 holes on the marsh, streams in the middle of the fairway, great bunkering, and overall excellent condition. Holes 8-9 and 15-18 are worth the greens fee. The course is permitting some of the waste bunkers to grow in as rough, but the rest of the course is excellent. The marsh holes are a true test from the white tees with the tips being a bear. The 9th hole is one of the most spectacular par 5's on the strand. A plateau fairway with marsh on the left on the drive and a forced carry over the marsh on the second to a 3rd to a narrow sliver of green. A really hard hole but a great hole. Take the time to play this gem in N.C. A 45 Min. drive from MB. but well worth the travel.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Casey1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Arrived and bag man took bags from trunk of car and after we parked car saw him cleaning our clubs prior to play. Beautiful club house with friendly employees with knowledge of course. Fun to play if you use your head. After we finished the bag man cleaned our clubs again while we went for car.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank parsch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016

For the first time on the course, great conditions and looking forward to seeing it in the spring with my foursome.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank RCAF831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016

Although Shallotte is a bit north of the Grand Strand it is a must to experience this Arnold Palmer gem. Do not attempt to go for #9 in two. Check out all the balls off the green in water.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank lfipar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Manager at River's Edge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Ifipar, Thank you for your review of our club. We appreciate you visiting. We routinely have guests that will watch players test their luck at #9 green. The nickname for the hole is "Arnie's Revenge"! Look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews