We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, and great service as well”
Review of Nelson Bay Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nelson Bay Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Sealevel
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlantic, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food, and great service as well”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I ordered the flounder plate and the hamburgersteak with onion gravy to go, food was excellent, and service was excellent! Price was also reasonable i would, reccommend this restuarant!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Local Place”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stopped in to try the fried chicken we had heard about. It was tasty, as were the mashed potatoes, homemade even. I also ordered the sweet potato casserole. It was ok, but the chicken and mashed potatoes were the best. A roll was served along with iced tea. The waitress was a bit sour faced, not super friendly. There was no view of the water behind the restaurant. And the restaurant was contained within an old hotel. Their sanitation grade was a 97.5. The locals were happy, however I wouldn't drive a long ways out of the way again to visit. It was good for a visit if you were hungry and close by though. It was clean and the dining room was cozy, with a larger room available if needed. The value was good. We were served three pieces of dark meat chicken which I thought was a gracious amount. The total bill was $14.00 for two people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mefohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US East Coast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken Anywhere”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We've eaten here several times. The food is always good and the price is right. Sometimes the service is a bit slow, so don't expect to get "in and out" quickly. But the food is worth the wait. The Fried Chicken here is the best I've ever had at any restaurant. They have many other very good selections also, both seafood and steaks/burgers. This restaurant is a family run business and most selections appear to be mostly or partially home-made. It's a nice clean place. To get here, take US Rt. 70 about 23+ miles East of Beaufort along the beautiful North Carolina Coast. Go through Stacy, NC, then a couple of miles to a high rise bridge. At the (North)East side of the bridge, the road will want ot go straight, slightly left, but slow down and take a left turn ot stay on US 70. The restaurant is about a mile on the left. Not sure of the hours, so best to call before taking a long trip out there. But this is definately a popular local spot on Friday and Saturday nights, and other times too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coastsignal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Burger in North Carolina”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Clean, bright (Spotless restroom) and great service.Angus Beef is ground daily which I belief contributes to the very tasty burgers. Nice water front setting. Relaxing atmosphere. Noted for fried Chicken buffet popular with local clientele. there is a nice walking area and an accessible pier.There are rental units adjacent to the restaurant which are popular with the fishing community. Sea Level is a very pleasant ~90 minute drive from New Bern, NC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Bay Cafe also viewed

Atlantic, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Nelson Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing