We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Birds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvan Heights Bird Park

Sylvan Heights Bird Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit the world's largest waterfowl park, featuring over 2,500 birds from around the world in large walk-through aviaries. Meet endangered waterfowl, flamingos, parrots, cranes, toucans, and more. Get an up-close experience with parakeets in the interactive Landing Zone aviary. Unique education programs teach students of all ages about waterfowl, wetlands, and environmental science. Admission: $11 for adults, $10 for seniors, and $8 for children. The park is open Tuesday through Sunday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the spring and summer, and 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. in the fall and winter.
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's alittle off the beaten path but absolutely worth the effort to find it. It is an outdoor activity so don't stop when it's raining. Lots of various types of water fowl, some cranes, flamingos, parrots and some near extinct birds. You enter large areas with the birds. A great way to spend an afternoon!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Crolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for adults and children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We did a day trip with our grandsons. The collection of waterfowl is the largest I've ever seen. The staff is friendly and the ones I spoke with were knowledgeable. Expect to spend at least four hours.

Take a picnic lunch. The adults can take a break at the picnic table while the kids burn off energy in the play area.

With all the trees there is not much wind and the open areas can be hot in the midday sun, so plan accordingly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen999123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The peaceful environment for visitor and the birds alike. A very enjoyable day and well worth the drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry10244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Landing Zone Smiles, Peacock Plumage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The new Landing Zone at Sylvan Heights Waterfowl Park lets you interact with live birds. Enter the enclosure, and charming parakeets eat from your hand, land on your arm, and, in my case, sit on the brim of my pink hat. This was the most fun! Smiling and laughing, my friend caught me on film with two blue budgies - it's one of my favorite travel photos. Attendants with brooms lightly sweep away birds so you don't accidentally step on them. This is a "don't miss" exhibit, and we are returning soon with other friends to share the delight.

Other exhibit areas let you view the birds safely from just outside the enclosures. You can see birds from around the world including some endangered species. I loved the scarlet ibis. My favorite bird was the male peacock parading his fine plumage in front of a drab-colored female peacock. Considering the hissing and fighting, the chain link fence shown in this picture was a good idea!

This is a great afternoon outing for kids through seniors. Travel tip: The birds seemed more active on a moderate temperature spring day than during a summer heat wave a few weeks later.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time had by all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This past Saturday my family went to Sylvan Heights to celebrate my nephews birthday. We did not expect this hidden gem in the small town of Scotland Neck. We were amazed by the number and types of birds that were here. Our three year old son loved the small crane out for a walk that he got to pet. Be sure to check out the landing zone and feed the parakeets and flamingos great fun for the entire family. One word of caution for those pushing a stroller with narrow wheels. Some paths may be hard to push through due to gravel. Not a big problem. Have fun we did so much we decided to become members after visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyner_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Heights Bird Park also viewed

 

Been to Sylvan Heights Bird Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing