We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in the whole world!”

Sylvan Heights Bird Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit the world's largest waterfowl park, featuring over 2,500 birds from around the world in large walk-through aviaries. Meet endangered waterfowl, flamingos, parrots, cranes, toucans, and more. Get an up-close experience with parakeets in the interactive Landing Zone aviary. Unique education programs teach students of all ages about waterfowl, wetlands, and environmental science. Admission: $11 for adults, $10 for seniors, and $8 for children. The park is open Tuesday through Sunday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the spring and summer, and 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. in the fall and winter.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best place in the whole world!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you like birds you wont find a better place. The birds are in open aviaries that you walk through so you can really experience them and take great pictures.

The people who run this place are also wonderful. They are friendly and eager to teach you about the birds.

I go every chance I get.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jgordon367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quite an experience for adults and children alike.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place has hundreds of birds; some cages, some roaming/flying freely. You can come in close contact with many exotic birds, which makes for great photographic opportunities.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in rural Eastern Carolina”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited with our two year old granddaughter. Took the golf cart tour with a guide. The perfect way to go with a small child and the guide was fantastic. The design facilitates being close to all types of waterfowl and the guide really helped us appreciate them and what they are doing to save many potentially extinct species.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scotland Neck's Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have you ever wondered about those beautiful exotic birds you see on TV or in National Geographic? Where do they come from? Do they make sounds? What do they eat? Well hidden away in central North Carolina is a lovely park, a tribute to an International lifetime of study and research on exotic birds and waterfowl! It is an educational resource for the "waterfowl, wetlands, and natural world" our children live in! It is a lovely day spent wandering paths and trails, peeking at owls and parrots and familiar exotic breeds but also peering from an enormous tree house with a view to untouched bogs and streams that support the food sources for the waterfowl. Listen to the peacocks call! Watch the flammingoes march at dusk. Absorb the colors of this sparkling gem!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank babspeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great day!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've lived in NC most of my life, and I had never heard of this place. Got a special offer through Groupon and decided to check it out. Even without the Groupon offer, it's only $9 for adults, so very reasonable. My husband and I drove through the country (early November) for a nice day out to Scotland Neck, NC (about an hour and 45 minutes from Wake Forest, NC area NC). The trees are not going to be stellar this year, but it was still a nice drive on hwy 561 vs the freeway. The center is very nice and the staff is friendly. It's a self-guided tour at your leisure, so plan on about 2 hours if you're a shutter bug like me. This place not only offers a great opportunity to see and photograph exotic birds, more importantly, it's a true sanctuary and offers help and assistance to endangered species as well as injured birds. It's a nice, leisurely stroll and a great learning experience for the kids. I give it 2 thumbs up! Check it out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank td193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Heights Bird Park also viewed

Been to Sylvan Heights Bird Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing