We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
53
50
18
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
50
18
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recreation center sapphire valley living room ping pong nice unit full kitchen mini golf deluxe unit wyndham resort fox hunt putt putt jacuzzi tub stackable washer dryer wood burning fireplace downstairs unit indoor pool second bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 137 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Beautiful scenery and condos; stayed at Fox Hunt in 2 bedroom, split-level condo. Large bedrooms and queen sleeper. Loved the fireplace and skiing. Slop is adaptable for first time skiers and relearning; rental and slope fee for day $40 per person, much cheaper than Virginia and Colorado. Very friendly staff at resort and instructors on slopes. Only one hour from Ashville. Roads curvy but many scenic falls and trails on the way. Sapphire Valley Brewing Co. great place for family dining, good food, burgers, pizza, subs, salads, etc, and normal prices. Usually a wait for table. Ingles is large grocery store in Cashiers and convenient to resort. Safe place for kids to ski without you being on slopes. Snow tubing on site and lots of fun. Buy gas before you go to Cashiers, gas is much higher in the mountains. There is a Wendy;s and a Subway for the fast food junkies. The amenities for the resort were great. The Rec Center had a nice indoor pool and sauna with a hot tub. There was also a business center, big screen TV, a workout room and a game room. In the Foxhunt units there was an internet connection in the unit.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank General_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I have read the negative reviews and I don't understand them. My wife and I and my 21 year old son and his girl friend stayed at this resort from July 24 to August 1 and we really enjoyed ourselves. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with a king sized bed in the master bedroom with a jacuzzi tub and stand up shower. My sons room had two twin beds which they pushed together and made one bed out of it. Their washroom had a tub, sink and toilet. We were in building 10 which was three buildings from Sapphire Mountain brewing company and the club house. We walked with our clubs to the club house, the golf course is very challenging and the food was awesome at the brewing company. We had supper there 2 nights and they have a fully stocked bar. The Ingles store in Cashiers was great for groceries and you could buy beer and wine down the road in the dry county with your temporary membership card that you get when you check in. Highlands was nearby and a great place to spend the day shopping, they also had a well stocked ABC liqour store. We took the train ride through the Great Smokey Mountains from Bryson City to Dillsboro. It was an enjoyable day with great scenery.

The rec centre, community centre and pool area was second to none. Indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, saunas, table tennis, tennis, pool, mini put, horse shoes and Wii tournaments to name a few. It was a very relaxing trip with beautiful mountain scenery and friendly people.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

My wife and 4 of our children stayed in a 2 bedroom on the fairway part of the resort. The downstairs had a nice king size bed and huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Also downstairs was the washer & dryer. Upstairs was the second bedroom with 2 single beds and a shared bathroom with a tub/shower. The kitchen had everything needed and was well stocked. The couch opened into a double size bed. Overall the condo unit was very nice. We did have some black ants in the kitchen, but it wasn't a real problem and reported it to the management company which is separate from Fairfield Resorts. We used the Fairfield Resort Clubhouse every day. It had a very nice weight/workout room, indoor pool with 2 indoor hot tubs and 2 saunas. Outside were 2 outdoor pools. They also have free 18 hole putt putt, basketball, tennis, volleyball,& horseshoes. It is about 2 miles from the condo to the Rec Center so prepare to drive. The roads are not made for biking or walking. The area has loads of waterfalls to see and trails to hike. There is a large nice grocery store, Ingles, just down the road. The rooms did not have internet, but the Rec Center has wireless and 2 computers that anyone can use. The Cashiers - Sapphire area must have more Benz/Volvo/Lexus than any location that I've ever been to. Nobody seemed snobby and everyone we met were really nice. We took the resort trip to the Biltmore for $60 per person. Looking forward to going back.....

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PnC_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My friend & I are in our early twenties, both female - friends from college on a fun trip together. We stayed in a one-bedroom for a week. We thought the resort was great and served our needs & wants well. Our condo was very spacious. We hung out in the living room several evenings for a movie. We used our kitchen every day to cook. We sat out on the balcony to read. We were in the Mountain Laurel condos, so we were within walking distance to the Rec Center & Community center where we made use of the wireless internet, DVD rental, swimming pools, library, and porch rocking chairs for reading. The staff was kind & helpful and the overall feeling of the place was pretty laid back - we were there in May before the busy season had set in. The resort is set in the mountains in close proximity to great hiking trails, breath-taking scenery, & gorgeous waterfalls. We ventured out almost every day to seek out waterfalls in the area and really enjoyed ourselves. We also spent some time exploring the local gift shops in Cashiers & Brevard, full of locally-made handmade items - pottery, paintings, carvings, furniture, crafts, etc - beautiful, unique items. We truly had a wonderful time & I would highly recommend Sapphire Valley Resort for a relaxing escape in the mountains.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thecoralcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I am a Fairfield timeshare owner, and I stayed a week at this site. The condo was large, and had great wooded views. The recreation and community centers are the fantastic! Clean pools, free putt-putt, free pool and ping-pong, free internet. At cost video games, DVD rentals, $10 library deposit (give me a break-these are donated books!) MY only complaint is that everything is a drive to get to. The mountain roads are beautiful-but VERY slow. Just to get 5 miles into town takes 15 minutes. THe pool, lake, recreation center, and community center take 10 minutes to get to. Even if you wanted to walk the 2 miles-you can't. THere's no trails.

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews