We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sapphire
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I have read the negative reviews and I don't understand them. My wife and I and my 21 year old son and his girl friend stayed at this resort from July 24 to August 1 and we really enjoyed ourselves. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with a king sized bed in the master bedroom with a jacuzzi tub and stand up shower. My sons room had two twin beds which they pushed together and made one bed out of it. Their washroom had a tub, sink and toilet. We were in building 10 which was three buildings from Sapphire Mountain brewing company and the club house. We walked with our clubs to the club house, the golf course is very challenging and the food was awesome at the brewing company. We had supper there 2 nights and they have a fully stocked bar. The Ingles store in Cashiers was great for groceries and you could buy beer and wine down the road in the dry county with your temporary membership card that you get when you check in. Highlands was nearby and a great place to spend the day shopping, they also had a well stocked ABC liqour store. We took the train ride through the Great Smokey Mountains from Bryson City to Dillsboro. It was an enjoyable day with great scenery.

The rec centre, community centre and pool area was second to none. Indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, saunas, table tennis, tennis, pool, mini put, horse shoes and Wii tournaments to name a few. It was a very relaxing trip with beautiful mountain scenery and friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

My wife and 4 of our children stayed in a 2 bedroom on the fairway part of the resort. The downstairs had a nice king size bed and huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Also downstairs was the washer & dryer. Upstairs was the second bedroom with 2 single beds and a shared bathroom with a tub/shower. The kitchen had everything needed and was well stocked. The couch opened into a double size bed. Overall the condo unit was very nice. We did have some black ants in the kitchen, but it wasn't a real problem and reported it to the management company which is separate from Fairfield Resorts. We used the Fairfield Resort Clubhouse every day. It had a very nice weight/workout room, indoor pool with 2 indoor hot tubs and 2 saunas. Outside were 2 outdoor pools. They also have free 18 hole putt putt, basketball, tennis, volleyball,& horseshoes. It is about 2 miles from the condo to the Rec Center so prepare to drive. The roads are not made for biking or walking. The area has loads of waterfalls to see and trails to hike. There is a large nice grocery store, Ingles, just down the road. The rooms did not have internet, but the Rec Center has wireless and 2 computers that anyone can use. The Cashiers - Sapphire area must have more Benz/Volvo/Lexus than any location that I've ever been to. Nobody seemed snobby and everyone we met were really nice. We took the resort trip to the Biltmore for $60 per person. Looking forward to going back.....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PnC_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My friend & I are in our early twenties, both female - friends from college on a fun trip together. We stayed in a one-bedroom for a week. We thought the resort was great and served our needs & wants well. Our condo was very spacious. We hung out in the living room several evenings for a movie. We used our kitchen every day to cook. We sat out on the balcony to read. We were in the Mountain Laurel condos, so we were within walking distance to the Rec Center & Community center where we made use of the wireless internet, DVD rental, swimming pools, library, and porch rocking chairs for reading. The staff was kind & helpful and the overall feeling of the place was pretty laid back - we were there in May before the busy season had set in. The resort is set in the mountains in close proximity to great hiking trails, breath-taking scenery, & gorgeous waterfalls. We ventured out almost every day to seek out waterfalls in the area and really enjoyed ourselves. We also spent some time exploring the local gift shops in Cashiers & Brevard, full of locally-made handmade items - pottery, paintings, carvings, furniture, crafts, etc - beautiful, unique items. We truly had a wonderful time & I would highly recommend Sapphire Valley Resort for a relaxing escape in the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thecoralcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I am a Fairfield timeshare owner, and I stayed a week at this site. The condo was large, and had great wooded views. The recreation and community centers are the fantastic! Clean pools, free putt-putt, free pool and ping-pong, free internet. At cost video games, DVD rentals, $10 library deposit (give me a break-these are donated books!) MY only complaint is that everything is a drive to get to. The mountain roads are beautiful-but VERY slow. Just to get 5 miles into town takes 15 minutes. THe pool, lake, recreation center, and community center take 10 minutes to get to. Even if you wanted to walk the 2 miles-you can't. THere's no trails.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed a week in the "resort" and were sadly disappointed. The first unit they gave us had a stove in two pieces and was filthy so they moved us next door. This was ok but after the first night with the temperature around 50 at night we did not realize that the AC did not work. We attempted calling anyone and everyone over the next three days to get this situation resolved. We were not ready to move all of our stuff to another unit again and had had about enough so I left several messages for the head of maintenance and then finally got so upset we began packing to leave and as one last ditch effort left a message for the resort manager. After this our AC was finally fixed 4 days of misery and we were credited a weeks worth of credits which was a fair attempt to remedy the situation. The temperatures in our condo were in the upper 80's and it was miserable. Other than that the units were quite run down and poorly maintained. There was not a lot to do and the people in and around the resort were not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lombardi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We are timeshare owners with Fairfield/Wyndham. Sapphire Valley was the first trip we booked using our points. I called the resort before we left home to ask questions about the layout so that we could bring the right equipment with us. We have young teenagers that don't always want to habng out with mom and dad. We were told that the pool was quite a ways from our condo. I asked if we brought bikes, would that help them get around. I was told "sure".

Well, we loaded our truck with 5 bikes and set out on the road. After an hour of climbing the windy roads up the mountain we finally arrived, only to find there was no way anyone would ride a bike from our condo to the pool. The hill leading from the main road to our condo went straight up! Needless to say the bikes sat in the truck the whole week. After that initial shock and frustration we checked out our condo.

It was quite spacious, but very worn down. The place had an odor that screamed mildew. The stove did not work, and after several calls, no one came to fix it. Being that we were quite a ways from resteraunts, that was a frustration, as we never did find the grills we were told were nearby. Other than that the trip was great.

Mini golf onsite, a nice activities and game room. Pool was nice too. The best part of the trip had nothing to do with the resort. That would be all the nearby hiking and waterfalls. There was a movie theater and a walmart within 35 minutes. There are some very nice antiques and local wares in the area also.

One other thing I will warn about was the "Owner Update" we were asked to attend. It was not high pressure, but the gentleman was insulting about our lack of knowledge about the Fairfield point system. His attitude did not help my already irritated feelings about our recent purchase in a timeshare.

I would definetly recommend the area for an active family vacation, but not neccesarily this resort.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank Sandybbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We recently purchased a timeshare at this resort on eBay... sight unseen. We have a fixed unit (2-Bedroom, 2 Bath) and a fixed week (wk 50). We were looking for a mid-winter get-away. WE certainly found it at Fairfield Sapphire Valley. When we arrived we were very pleased and somewhat surprised at the exceptional size, quality, condition and layout of our 2 story townhouse. Full updated kitchen, 3 decks, Master bedroom king and attached bath with a shower and a huge jacuzzi bathtub, and a private deck. 2nd bedroom has 2 twin beds and a second full bath which is shared with the living area. We have a huge stone fireplace in the living room... too many amenities to list. Great restaurants on the premises and the recreation center is wonderful with a large indoor pool, wet & dry saunas, hot-tub, massage room, tanning room, etc. Also a huge gaming area for the kids and adults with great pool tables, ping-pong tables, and scors of electronic arcade games. PCs with Internets access are in the rec center and are free to use. Also WIFI in the rec center as well. I have lots of photos to share.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank edwardh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sapphire
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
230 reviews
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
4.5 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Address: 70 Sapphire Valley Rd, Sapphire, NC 28774-8678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Sapphire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sapphire
Price Range: $275 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel Sapphire
Sapphire Valley Nc
Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing