We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, fun, something for everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sapphire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing, fun, something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for a short one week ski vacation for our son to learn skiing. The ski area itself is only open on the weekends so we had plenty of time during the week to fill our days with sightseeing etc. The Wyndham location is perfect in Sapphire Valley, central to many outdoor activities if you like hiking and sight seeing. The lodging itself was very comfortable, the kitchen has everything that we needed to make our own food, the unit has a washer/dryer combo and everything was clean and in working order. There was enough shampoo, dishwasher powder and laundry powder to cover our needs. The wifi works great (got some work done, we pulled down videos without a glitch) and the layout of our unit (one bedroom, single floor) worked well for us. The staff at the front desk was courteous and the staff at the community center was very friendly as well. We were playing ping pong, mini golf, rented a movie and just kicked back and relaxed when we were staying on property. We didn't use the indoor pool or jacuzzi which looked inviting, nor the workout facility which has free weights and machines in it. The resort is family oriented so having kids run around is ok. All in all we could stay here longer than one week and enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: The unit we were in sits back next to the tubing slope, open weekends only and once that shuts down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CatKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Secluded location in the beautiful and scenic mountains of North Carolina. Helpful staff with plenty to do at the resort and in the local area. Easy access. Many helpful amenities. Everything was in proper working order.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were there for three days with kids from 13 to 21 and they all loved it. The condo had two sections. Upstairs had full kitchen, small dinning area, living room with TV and sofa bed and a bedroom with Q/K bed. A full bath accessed from Living area or bedroom. The second level included a small Living room with TV and sofa bed, then down a small set of stairs a smaller kitchen, table and chairs for 4, full bath with Jacuzzi tub, and a bedroom with Q/K bed and a vanity area with sink in the room. Both spaces had a glass sliding door and deck facing part of the ski area. Total there is sleeping space for 4 people in beds plus 4 people on sofas. Small washer/Dryer in Laundry closet on each floor. The beds/comforter/pillows were good quality. The kitchen was very well equipped with pots/pans big enough for a family. Glass casserole dishes with tops and good knives. The dishwasher/refrigerator/micro were full size and worked well. The ski slope is VERY beginner but was perfect for my first time skiers. You get a nice discount if you are an owner or renting from an owner. For the discount at the Ski Area you only need one amenity card per group, but for the Rec Center you need one per person. They cost $6 and include Free indoor pool, Gym, Ping Pong. They also have coin operated Air Hockey, and Pool and lots of video games. The Rec rooms are big, the equipment is new, the place is clean and the gym equipment is great. The Ski Lodge area is very basic. An outdoor porch with big rocking chairs to watch skiers, an indoor cafeteria style restaurant with OK hot drink. (didn't eat anything there) Can't comment on quality of skis because I'm not a skier. They did have ski pants and bibs to rent but no gloves, masks, jackets.
There is a great Ingells Supermarket just down the road. Perfect for beginners or a long weekend. The older kids drove to Catalooche to ski the next day and it took an hour and half to get there. Prices higher but real ski slopes.

Room Tip: Condos all seem to be located around the ski area. No obvious bad choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you like being outdoors this is definitely a good location! The community center, rec center, river walking trail, small ski area, and a couple restaurants are walkable within the property, the rest of the common attractions (mountain bike trails, waterfalls, town) are a 30-45 minute drive (think windy roads). The weather didn't cooperate during our visit, so we stayed in the unit for most of the trip. The units were comfortable but with dated decor that really only needed a few changes to bring them up to speed for the area.

We traveled with a family of three adults, and our initial unit had a very strange layout - living area with pullout couch and tv was on the small, narrow top landing when you entered the unit, but the bathroom/bedroom/kitchen was down a steep set of stairs. Unfortunately the beautiful, separate jetted tub overlooking the woods could not make up for the concern I had that one of our travelers might not be safe in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. Additionally, we could not watch movies as a family with this layout. We returned to the front desk as were able to make a change to a single floor layout. If you are traveling as just a couple and will be outside most of the time, this wouldn't be a problem, and the jetted tub would be a great bonus!

Prepare for more travel time on the mountain roads - going east to the town of Brevard may take 45 minutes one way. Also, the front desk closes daily at 6:00pm; there is an emergency number for after hours, but we didn't need to use it.

There is an excellent grocery store (Ingles) just a few miles west in Cashiers, and Mica's restaurant onsite was very good.

Room Tip: Scenic views are not available with all units, though all you have to do it step outside and you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SueC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our second visit to Sapphire Valley. The Place is a great location for a mountain getaway. The resort is nice with plenty to keep you busy on campus. The indoor/outdoor pools are nice. The game room with Pool and Ping Pong tables with arcades. The workout room and game and movie rentals. Off campus is the beauty of North Carolina. Whitewater falls is a few miles away and is always a photographers dream. Shopping in Brevard or Highlands is nearby. We have been pleased with what Sapphire offers.

Room Tip: Wifi is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Though we live in NC this was our first trip to Sapphire and we loved it. This is not a "compact, walk-to restaurants" kind of area. Have to drive a decent amount to attractions, to the pool/fitness area, and to the nearest grocery store. The isolation is really what it's all about. Fantastic hiking and the waterfalls are amazing. We booked this resort through RCI and were very pleased. Though the view from our unit was disappointing, we spent so much time outside it mattered little. Kitchen was fairly well equipped - couldn't find a cookie sheet but we made do. The unit itself was a bit dated but clean and beds, though firm, were comfortable. PLENTY of room for a family in our 2 bedroom unit.

I would definitely recommend for a family trip. Fall is spectacular but there are some hikes that are better in winter and there is a small ski slope in the resort.

Room Tip: Might want to request a view. There should be some good ones but we sure didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisacamriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We are Wyndham owners but not in the Wyndham but Saffire Valley Management unit, 2 bed/2 bath near golf club house. All was clean, in order and comfortable. Not the newest furniture but beds were very comfortable.Our guest liked theirs too, they had two twins. Parking easy, rooms quiet and we requested no step to entry and had just that. Perfect weather and ever more brilliant leaf color last week of October. We had a great time. Found some great restaurants, great outdoor hikes with waterfalls everywhere. All the staff attentive. We are hoping to return with grand child.

Room Tip: Try to arrive in daylight. The roads are scenic and twisty. It would be hard to find these units in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheval O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sapphire
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
4.5 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairway Forest
Fairway Forest
#4 of 4 in Sapphire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Property: Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley
Address: 70 Sapphire Valley Road, Sapphire, NC 28774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Sapphire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sapphire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel Sapphire
Sapphire Valley Nc
Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing