We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Ok, Not the ritz, but room was clean”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for first time last week. The Hotel is back off the road enough that there was not a problem of road noise. The room and linens were clean.
Just a little agravating that the front desk thought he had to call our room to ask if we were checking out today or need to stay another day when we were on the way out the door 20 mins before check out time.
Other than that no problems to speak of.
Didn't get to try the breakfast. It was a Sunday AM and didn't get up in time for breakfast if they even had any.
Would probally stay here again if overnight in the area, but not to expect anything special, just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

My stay at this hotel was great, breakfast, gym and even sauna was great, the room was spotless clean, I had everything I needed, the staff at the front desk was great, very friendly and courtious! Checked me in pretty quick! I had to stay there for almost a month since they were doing remodeling to my house, and a little spray for black ants, however, It's a great place because it is pretty close to many stores, it would probably take 5 minutes or even less to get to the small shopping center, many fast food restaurants, and very elegant restaurants (Apple bee's, Elizabeths pizza) downtown sanford, and probably 10 or 15 minutes to drive up to the main streets of sanford!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building much quieter durring the week, although less sun!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chata1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My room was clean and smelled great. The bathroom was clean but it could use some upgrading, there was mold around the pipes, etc. The bathroom in a friend's room was in better shape. For the price, though, the hotel was fine. Easy to find, clean and I felt quite safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivysmomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My room door had been kicked in but not completely repaired - the safety latch was still broken and the hole in the wall made by the inside latch flying into it was unnerving - I imagined a meth lab bust in my room. The outside of the door itself was a grimy mess. Mold in the bathroom, used Q-tips behind the night stand, brown water out of the basin, light bulbs burned out, dirty (nearly opaque) window. I did not check for bedbugs because I was afraid what I would find if I looked. I put out the Do Not Disturb sign because it was clear to me that the housekeeper was not doing their job and I preferred that nobody clean the room - at least my stuff might not get stolen. Pool was a green, foul mess. The lobby and restaurant was a dump too, the morning "breakfast" was a joke and you could tell the other patrons felt so too - poor lighting, kiddie-sized furniture, dirty dishes everywhere & lousy food supplied by an unsmiling, overworked grump. The bar area was used for breakfast prep and was a mess. I ate my breakfast next to a flat of broken eggshells and a bus pan of dirty dishes. Shame on me for lowering my standards to stay in this hotel after the first 5 minutes. This place would not be worth it if it was FREE.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Sheila { front desk } check in was a pleasure. missed motel and called by cell and she directed me right into the parking lot. Very courteous and kind. room was spotless. only drawback was it was a week-end stay and the continental breakfast shuts down sharp at 8:30. have to get up early to enjoy it.over-all, excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firestick032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I've stayed in better places for half the price. Musty rooms, cigarette burns in the carpet even though you are staying in a non-smoking room, no hot water, cockroaches, construction and hammering at 8:30 am on Memorial Day holiday. What's not to love. There are a few other motels in town. Stay there instead.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yankeevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

2 story property, all exterior rooms, no elevator. Lobby is in a separate building. Check in was quick and smooth, nice lobby but the area behind the check in desk was cluttered.
Room was fairly clean, but you could tell they definitely don't go the extra mile. Had to plug in my laptop behind the dresser, looked like no one had ever cleaned behind it. Mildew on the wallpaper that bordered the top of the shower stall. Bedspread looked like it needed cleaning, if not replacing. My room had a king size bed with a couch; couch was filthy.
Bed and pillows were comfortable enough. Room had hair dryer, coffee maker. TV channel lineup fairly limited, but did have Showtime. Wi-Fi worked well. Good breakfast, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, waffle, pastries/bagels/toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. Very good OJ. If management would pay a little more attention to details and spruce the place up a bit it could be a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sanford
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Sanford
Comfort Suites Sanford
#3 of 8 in Sanford
70 reviews
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sanford
Hampton Inn Sanford
#2 of 8 in Sanford
261 reviews
23.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lillington
21.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Siler City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1403 N Horner Blvd, Sanford, NC 27330-9457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sanford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range: $64 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sanford
Sanford Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing