We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouldn't even be open...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shouldn't even be open...”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I arrived in the daytime and the first thing I noticed was two dead birds hanging out of the roofing for the walkway. Sat on one of my double beds and it plopped right of the frame. The first morning I woke up I had an incredible headache and my tonsils swollen to the point I could barely stand to talk. My eyes also watered like crazy. This way of waking continued for three days. On the last night I had grown complacent and didn't mind the room. That next morning I woke up to a puddle in front of my bed. The refrigerator had stopped running and all the ice in the freezer had melted. Upon gathering my stuff to checkout I noticed my bread had been moved sightly. Just enough to notice but not enough to care. That's when I noticed the mouse trap beside the refrigerator. Upon closer inspection to my disgust, the mouse trap was NOT empty. And my bread and a small pack butter had been nibbled at. By that mouse or a different one. Who knows?! It's been two days since checking out and my symptoms are the same. Well I've been diagnosed with pink eye since I left. I almost forgot. When I asked the owner if I could be reimbursed the man told me no. I told him look for my review.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank ag23837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisanford, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear ag23837,

On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the negative experience you had in 2014. I understand that you had pink eye and I can understand how you must feel. However, pink eye can be spread in any business. I have not had any other staff or guests experience any issues with it. You may have come into contact with another infected person at a restaurant, store etc who could have transmitted it to you.



Regards,
Rakesh-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Sanford, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The first room they tried to put us in was disgusting! The bath tub had several different levels of rings that were dried up mud (or black mold) and the linens were gross. Went back up to the office and they put us in another room just down the hall, claiming they knew nothing about the issues in the first room with the tub/linens. The 2nd room was not much better - tub was at least clean but thankfully we packed our own towels and the towels they offered in the rooms look like they had human bodily fluids stained (or smeared) on them. I also brought our own blankets and laid them across the top of the bed to sleep and hit a laundromat the next morning before hitting the road. The continental breakfast was a complete joke (really OLD cereal) and a gallon of milk left sitting on the counter. Will NEVER go back to this place!!!!

Room Tip: Go find another hotel and avoid this one like the plague!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdafrogz66420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisanford, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Dear Mr. Florida Resident
Sorry for not being able to get to your response, as soon as possible. I apologize for your inconveniences, and in the future I hope that you have a better stay at this location. This day, our customer had left the milk container outside on the counter, and our breakfast cereal tray was open for a short amount of time. When you arrived to eat breakfast, you had come during our closing time. Therefore, you were unable to enjoy the most fresh, and ravishing breakfast that we offer. Most America's Best Value Inn's are not required to serve breakfast by the Vantage Franchise Group, however we do offer fresh breakfast. In the future, we will try to make your accommodation more pleasant, and we apologize for any inconveniences that you faced at our property.
Sincerely, Rakesh-Manager America"s Best Value Inn-Sanford, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First room they gave us and the door lock didn't work and only worked with the manager's card.
Then we got a room on the second floor instead of our preferred lower floor. Even though the place is almost empty, they said they had no rooms available on the bottom floor.....
Bathroom is dirty, moldy and the beds are very springy.
One star for having WIFI and a TV.
Forget this place.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank jnevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisanford, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jnevitt,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am very concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that all complaints will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.


Regards,
Rakesh-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Sanford, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanford hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sanford
Hampton Inn Sanford
#1 of 8 in Sanford
255 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sanford
Comfort Suites Sanford
#3 of 8 in Sanford
68 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sanford
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1143 N Horner Blvd, Sanford, NC 27330-9444 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Sanford, North Carolina. Sanford is situated in the heart of North Carolina and has a rich history as a small southern railroad town. Popular area attractions include the Railroad House Historical Society, Frank Theatres, Sanford Golf Course, Downtown Sanford, Imagination Station, and House-In-The-Horseshoe Historic Site. After a fun filled day of sightseeing in the Stanford area, enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants such as Hunan Chinese Restaurant, Larry's Southern Kitchen Buffet, Luli Sushi Restaurant or Burger King. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is here to help make Americas Best Value Inn Sanford your hotel of choice. Start your day right with our free daily continental breakfast. Children age 12 and under always stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Relax in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, mini-fridge, microwave, data port, satellite TV, sitting area, and desk with lamp. At Americas Best Value Inn Sanford, We've Got You Covered, from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sanford
Sanford Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing