We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You've got to go!”

Tobacco Road Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Sanford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This course threads through a former sand quarry and has the feel of a maze.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You've got to go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Do u have a bucket list ? This should be on your list! You won't believe what you see and when you think you have seen it all, the next hole will blow you away! Have fun!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Manager at Tobacco Road Golf Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Through Trip Advisor, I signed up to be able to reply to comments about the course both good and bad. I hope I get to respond to a lot experiences like yours. Please continue to come and enjoy this Mike Strantz design!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    11
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

the is target golf at it's finest. If you are a high handicapper stay away and play some of the other courses near by. The only negative on the course was near the end it got a bit too much I thought.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanandann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
“What a Challenge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I'm a 24 handicap and thoroughly enjoyed playing this course. It's unique design required a thoughtful approach to each shot. I will definitely return when in Pinehurst.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, SC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It's a must play for any golfer, no mater what your handicap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently played at Tobacco Road with my son and a mutual friend. Needless to say, prior to going I went on line to review the animated video, and was NOT looking forward to playing this course. For a high handcapper like myself, it did not look like the place to play. I figured that I was doomed to a day of lost balls and shear frustration. I could see where a low handicap golfer would get a massive challenge out of it, but not an older short hitter like me.

Well, let me just say that I was wrong. Yes, the course has many challenging holes, and I do mean challenging, but with the yardage book and some common sense play, it's not that bad. Look, even I broke 100 on my first go around, and when we played two day later, I almost broke 90. Yes, the greens for the most part are a mess due to a bad infestation they had on most of them, but we were warned of that before we played.

Absolutely one of the most visually stunning courses I have ever played. Any golfer who likes even a small challenge will love this place. 100% recommended to play at least once in your lifetime!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Conwayangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoy the Mike Stranz courses to get a break from the traditional course. Be ready for a great course visually with some tough shots requiring pinpoint accuracy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank itravelnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Road Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Road Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing