We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family vacation”

Review of Mermaid's Lair

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Salvo, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Family vacation ”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Mermaids lair was the perfect house for my family and myself. Plenty of room, very nice wood molding and design that makes sense for the beach. Pool and hot tub were great, we loved having them and used them often. There was even a high chair for my 1 yr old and that came in VERY handy! The beach was about a 7-10 minute walk. We took a beach cart and it was a little tough going over the dunes but we made it work. Once you get down there, it was all worth it. We even had a fire on the beach one night and got to see all the ghost crabs come out and play!
Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal K
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outer Banks Vacation”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The property was well maintained and well equipped. The service was great and the amenities excellent. We had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn B
carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This beach house was wonderfully maintained and had a great set up. We were able to easily put our children to bed on the second floor, while hanging out at night on the 3rd floor, game room or the pool without waking them up. The house was also very well stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook with (crockpots, deep fryer, pots and pans, etc.). I loved all of the balconies and the hot tub and pool were very clean. The hot tub broke during our stay, but they fixed it right away and were very professional and polite.

Here is why I am giving 4 stars instead of 5. Our bed was hard as a rock and very uncomfortable. The other two king size beds and twin beds were fine, but ours really could use a new mattress. Another drawback was the distance to the beach. It was a very long walk, which is fine for my family, but my mom was not able to do the walk easily, so we ended up driving to other beach entrances.

Overall...I would stay here again...loved the house and the realty company!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Dear Jenn B,
We are so glad that you enjoyed Mermaid's Lair and appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback about the bed(s). We look forward to welcoming you back to Hatteras Island in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful beach house is exactly as described. All of the pictures are accurate. The only way this house could have been better, is if it were right on a dune!

Either the previous tenants had OCD and kept it very clean, or the cleaning staff did a really nice job prepping the house. We arrived around 5 on Saturday and aside from Bluebeard Road not being marked on the main road, we were able to locate it easily. This house is beautifully maintained. The details make it feel like home. The first floor boasts a pool table, full size refrigerator, half bath, flat screen and laundry. It was a great place to gather and throw the kids toys for them to play. Very tastefully furnished. Second floor has 4 immaculate bedrooms, all with deck access. I can honestly say that I haven't been in a beach house this clean and well furnished. Bathrooms were very clean, modern, and beautifully decorated. The furniture is absolutely gorgeous. The third floor has a large dining table, a beautiful, modern kitchen and all the amenities of home. There weren't any window coverings, but the view was stunning! You can see the sound side and ocean side. The king suite has a double sink, which I thought was an extra detail that set it apart. The furniture was in great shape, no noticeable stains or markings. The large area rugs were immaculate. There was a vacuum on every floor, and they actually worked which was a nice change from other houses we've rented. The pool is large, clean and easily accessible for young children via the steps. Hot tub was clean and like new. We even saw some friendly frogs! When we couldn't access the pool lights, we placed a call into maintenance. They were there within a few hours to flip the breaker. I was impressed that they responded so quickly! Carpet, woodwork and decor were clean and like new. There were just so many small, convenient details that set this house apart. The only downside is that the location does require a little more work to get to the beach, but in my opinion, that's a fair trade! With small children, we spend a lot of time close to the pool. There was a convenient public beach access path just down the road. We walked it many times, and it really wasn't too bad, just required some careful preplanning. You could still sit on the deck and hear the waves in the evening. We had a fabulous family vacation and I would definitely stay there again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing