We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchard Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Saluda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shallotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Great inn and great location. Far enough away from tourist areas to forget about the rest of the world but close enough to get anywhere you need to go
Saluda is an absolutely charming town with two great little restaurants. Innkeepers are real pros who know how to make you happy....and breakfast ain't bad either

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
139
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

A great relaxing bed and breakfast a short distance from Asheville NC and Greenville SC. Marianne and Mark Blazar are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are delightful and delicious and Marianne's recipes often feature locally produced items. Dinner when available is memorable and the service is friendly and gracious. Mark has a nice selection of wine to accompany the dinners. The Inn is cozy and sparklingly clean. The Boxers are a welcoming addition. A great getaway winter, spring, summer or fall.
CSW43

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSW43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at the Orchard Inn in early Spring and what a good time we had! Absolutely everything was perfect...the room was very clean and comfortable, as was the beautiful common room. The small library was well stocked with a surprisingly good selection of books, games and puzzles. The views were beautiful, as were the two well behaved boxers (dogs, not pugilists) and Newman the cat. The breakfast was delicious and so filling we skipped lunch each day we were there. Innkeepers Marc and Marianne were friendly, sincere and helpful. Also, the town of Saluda is adorable with a great mix of hippie/country with modern urban.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Orchard Inn for the weekend. We are pretty particular about things, but both of us could not have been more pleased. Clean and comfortable. Picturesque. The breakfasts included with the stay were memorable. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a lovely extended family weekend spent at the Orchard Inn. The Inn is charming, comfortable, clean. The owners - Marc & Marianne - are very welcoming and gracious. The rooms were all well appointed, again very comfortable. Breakfasts were wonderful! We had dinner as well which was delicious. We stayed in the Laurel Cottage which was great for the size of our party, living room, dining room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeping loft and screened porch - perfect for our group.
I am hoping for a return trip in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We loved our time away in the North Carolina mountains because of the gracious and charming Orchard Inn. The innkeepers, Marc and Marianne, and their manager, Sally, make sure your stay is all that you hope it will be. Our weather was a little cold and rainy, which was actually perfect for settling in to our cottage with a warm fire. Our cottage was cheerful, clean, spacious and had the most amazing view from the private deck. We celebrated my husband's birthday at the restaurant and Marianne's cuisine was as fine a meal as we've had anywhere - complete with homemade Sachre Torte! Breakfast the next morning was like none I've ever had before - perfection. We are already making plans to return in the fall. This will be one of our most special destinations.

Room Tip: We loved the view from our cottage - Paulownia. It had the same view as the main house has. Overlo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Energy efficient lighting; green gardening practices; recyling - all things that are important to us.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Seventeen members of our family, from seventy years to one year, gathered at the Orchard Inn to celebrate a birthday. The Inn's facilities, both the cottages and the rooms in the main building, are
wonderfully quaint. The food is superb and the service is excellent. Both Marc and Marianne could not be more gracious hosts and we would highly recommend the Orchard Inn for anyone wanting a relaxing and elegant getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluda
6.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
14.7 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saluda Mountain Lodge
5.9 mi away
1906 Pine Crest Inn
1906 Pine Crest Inn
#1 of 2 in Tryon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Red Horse Inn
The Red Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in Landrum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Inn

Property: Orchard Inn
Address: 100 Orchard Inn Ln, Saluda, NC 28773-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 mi. south of Asheville where the foothills meet the Blue Ridge Mountains, the rest of the world melts away the moment you enter the long winding driveway and approach our elegant mountain top escape, comfortably nestled on 12 peaceful acres. As you walk up the front steps, graciously framed in boxwood hedges, the cozy rockers on the Antebellum style porch are calling. Enter the open and airy living room with it's great stone fireplace, and you immediately feel at home. The Inn was originally built in 1926 by the Brotherhood of Southern Railroad as a summer retreat for members' families. Transformed into a B&B in 1981 it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, member of Select Registry as well as Chaine des Rotisseurs. Fine dining restaurant serving dinner Thurs-Sat. 14 rooms tastefully decorated in period pieces & antiques all with luxurious linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel Saluda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing