We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever at a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Saluda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best service ever at a motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I were planning to go to my cabin in Burnsville, NC, but hurricane Sandy made us have to change our plans. We were afraid of getting snowed in w/out electricity. We had packed food that we planned to cook while there.

At the last minute, we found the Saluda Mountain Lodge. After checking in, we told Wendy about our predicament. She furnished us with a grill on which to prepare our food, furnished side dishes from her kitchen and made us feel like we were part of the family!! As the wind howled outside, we were safe, warm and full inside our room at the Saluda Mountain Lodge.

This would certainly not have happened in a hotel chain room. This is the place to stay if you are in the area. The view from the rear of the hotel is amazing, but not as amazing as the personal service. It was like stepping back in time to the era of friendly, personalized service.
Thanks again to Wendy and her whole family.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that you could choose a bad room here. Ours had two double beds, microwave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just happened to stop here, because the sun was going down and I was tired. When we arrived Wayne (the owner) was very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. He suggested we check the view before it gets dark and how right he was.....it's a sight to see as the sun went down. You feel the peace, the beauty, the reverence. You just forget all your problems. The room was as clean as the mountain air. I thank you guys for the experience and when I'm in the area again, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

It’s not easy to define perfection but staying at the Saluda Mountain Lodge is about as near to that as one can get.
Serenity and tranquility are in abundance here. Sitting out back at the huge fire pit gives one magnificent views of, too numerous to count, mountain ranges.
The informative lodge owners, Wendy and Wayne, are there if you need them and add to the overall experience.
Rooms are clean and comfortable (wood ceilings add warmth).
The bathrooms are antiseptic clean, everything shines.
All rooms have spectacular mountain views (sunrises and sunsets). This is definitely a place that all who stay here once will want to return again. Five star all the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first stay at the Saluda Mountain Lodge and we were well impressed with all aspects of our stay. Wendy and Wayne were first-class hosts and give the lodge much more of a bed and breakfast atmosphere with their 'always available but never in the way' approach to business. Little touches like mulled cider in the evenings, supplies to make s'mores around the evening fire behind the lodge, or the comfortable benches, tables, and chairs strategically positioned around the lodge on the property all added to the stay being memorable.

Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We chose a deluxe room (this adds a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and most importantly a door that accesses directly to the rear common area that features the heavenly views of the Green River Gorge). The bathroom was very clean and easily met my approval--and I am OCD about bathrooms in hotels! The beds were firm but comfortable and we easily got a good nights sleep.

We also soooooo enjoyed the chairs in the back yard, allowing us to enjoy the fire pit in the evenings and the magnificent views during the day. I have no idea how many hours we spent just enjoying these aspects of the visit and talking without interruption.

The little town of Saluda is nearby (<5 minute drive) and has several little shops and eateries. Ward's Grill and Green River BBQ are two favorites of ours. Basic groceries and 'oh no I forgot that' items are easy to pick up within the town. If you expand into the Hendersonville or Asheville area from here as your base-camp, the sky is the limit on what activities and venues will capture your interests.

All said and done the Saluda Mountain Lodge provided us a much needed weekend away from the everyday concerns of life, allowing us to decompress and enjoy time as a couple and leaving us prepared to face Monday refreshed. We would definitely stay here again and will plan to do so in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Me_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful get away, nestled in the mountains of NC. Each room in the lodge is uniquely decorated and appointed keeping with the feel of a mountain lodge. The deluxe rooms have a back door which opens to spectacular views of the mountains. There is an open fire pit in the back and the owners, Wendy and Wayne provide the makings for S'mores by the fire! The lodge is immaculate and Windy and Wayne make you feel like one of the family! If you don't try this one out you truly are missing out. Margaret W.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Saluda Mountain Lodge is one of my favorite places to stay. Wendy & Wayne are the nicest couple you'll ever meet. The view from the back of the Lodge is beautiful any time of the year. Maybe next time we stay there will snow on the ground. The rooms are always clean and neat. But one thing I love is the rooms are uniquely decorated! Thanks Wendy & Wayne! We hope to see you again very soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great experience at the Lodge on Friday, we met lots of nice people, had a wonderful time around the firepit, roasting marshmellows and making s'mores. The Aumans are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome! Will definely recommend this Lodge to friends and family. Next time we would love to stay longer! Beautiful views this place is a hidden treasure!

Room Tip: Next time would ask for Deluxe for the firepit access, but the standard was very comfortable and imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluda
7.4 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orchard Inn
Orchard Inn
#1 of 7 in Saluda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saluda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saluda Mountain Lodge

Property: Saluda Mountain Lodge
Address: 1793 Holbert Cove Rd, Saluda, NC 28773-8515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saluda Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Saluda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing