We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Country Retreat
Ranked #4 of 16 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My gal pals (3 in total) decided to stay here 9th February 1 night prior to taking the plunge out of an airplane doing a tandem skydive in York.
What a pleasant surprise when we drove into this property. The owner was not there when we arrived (being in Perth for his Mother-in-laws 83rd birthday), however the groundsman that showed us to our Cottage (Julien's Cottage) was very friendly and helpful, the owner arrived back some time in the evening and came out to greet us on our return from going into town for dinner, his name was Michael and what a friendly, lovely and accomodating man he seemed to be.
What a lovely cottage, really wished straight away that we had decided to come up a few nights earlier and stayed longer than 1night. The cottage has everything you may need for more than a comfortable stay, plenty of room, crockery, cutlery, views and ambience. Lots of artwork on the walls that could keep you occupied and fascinated for a while and the balcony sit out is amazing (albeit a little dry being February), fully airconditioned and 2 bathrooms.
The other accommodation also looked interesting, however I am not able to give a review on all the offerings as did not have enough time to explore. I would suggest that this place would be good for more than a 1 night stay, perhaps 3-4nights minimum next time to take it all in.

Room Tip: Julien's Cottage was absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthSuzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and was very sad when I had to leave. I just love this place. Our art club held their annual Getaway here, and the grounds and cottages were just beautiful. So much inspiration on this property alone, I did not have to venture into town for more. Rooms look like mini antique shops, very clean and comfortable. Lots and lots of secret gardens to relax in, while munching on mulberries picked fresh from the trees. Well equipped kitchen and large bathroom a bonus. Andrew and Joy are wonderful people, making sure everything was OK. We will be back next year without a doubt.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Lodge. A one bedroom cottage with kitchen and living area, separate bedroom and larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed two nights and Joy & Andrew made our visit to York that much nicer. We have wonderful memories of this special region of WA. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast more than ample and delicious. served in a delightful Tea Room. The gardens are beautiful and the decor imaginative and fun to look at. Thank you Joy & Andrew for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the ensuite rooms during a business trip and it made a long couple of days much more enjoyable. So glad now that the pubs in town had been booked out!
The room was quiet and comfortable, and I had everything I needed to relax after work. Breakfast in the garden room was a good start to the day, and there was enough of everything.
Good location too, within walking distance of town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMcIntyre010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a Friday and Saturday night at Andrew and Joys excellent B&B. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with the old Womans Day magazines a real feature. The weather may not have been friendly, but the hosts were with a great breakfast in the morning. The memorabilia and rustic decore was in keeping with York and their premises. For the practical the bed and bathroom were great. For a lazy weekend (we hardly left the room) it's a short drive and for a winters stay with the pot belly fired up just the best.
Thanks Joy and Andrew
Peter & Lynne

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was part of a team hosting a (mature age) student retreat here from Monday to Friday. My husband had taken his students there last year as well but this year I went along to relieve the burden of organising meals etc. Though not set up for catering by any stretch of the imagination, we nevertheless managed to cope with cooking & re-heating between the Teahouse & the self-contained cottages, and having the property to ourselves for the week worked perfectly for accommodation, meals & meetings, with plenty of indoor + outdoor spaces for quiet reflection.

Everything here is clean, comfortable & well-equipped, with gorgeous gardens throbbing with birdlife & patrolled by the resident canines - Lady, Annie & Pixie. The surrounding paddocks & rocky outcrops are wonderful to explore, the air is clean & bracing mid-winter, and the stars at night are breathtaking away from the city lights & smog. Morning temps drop below freezing so take your woollies !

From start to finish the process was friendly & easy - Joy & Andrew couldn't have been more helpful & obliging. Bugatti Café in town likewise, where we sourced some of our meals. There is an IGA for supplies and The Imperial Hotel was the venue for a truly excellent meal on our final evening.

Definitely our first choice for future retreats, as it's a work away from Perth but not too long a drive.

Room Tip: Joy provides breakfast for B & B guests if desired. Cottages are well equipped for self-catering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the homesteads overlooking the wheat belt. Very clean, and owner was very helpful and genuinely interested. Close to the town.....short walk or drive and quite a lot to visit by car in the area. But York shuts down on a Saturday afternoon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fosseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Faversham House York
1.0 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
0.2 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
2.1 mi away
Hope Farm Guest House
0.6 mi away
Avon Accommodation York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Country Retreat

Address: 30 Forrest Street, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $165 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing