We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgot to ask?”

Penny Farthing Sweets
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: local and imported sweets from all over the world. Very interesting unique display of York history, photos and handmade souveniers. Free tastings , open every day.We no longer sell the York made icecream,but you can get it from York Olive Oil Company just 7ks from town.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Forgot to ask?”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hello there - did you like your bits n bobs from Yorkshire that I brought? Have you tried any of the recipes out yet? I hope this flag hasn't worn out just yet!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jukejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shardyYorkWA, Owner at Penny Farthing Sweets, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hi guys thanks heaps for the 'Yorkshire bits" they are in pride of place on display in the shop. I am yet to give the recipes a go but Garry is looking forward to trying some that' for sure. I will let you know how they come out!! We keep the flag hanging inside ( tho some say this is superstitious) but our super sunshine would destroy it very quickly !! :) Thanks again and hopefully we will see again one day..
cheers
Linda and Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly shop owner”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Interesting shop with all kinds of candies. Friendly shop owner who encouraged and even showed us which part of the shop is the best angle to take photos and asked us to feel free to take down the mega candy to take photo with. Award winning ice creams which are hard to resist. Thumb up for everything! A must visit in York town!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cute little sweet store!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We always pop into this store when in town, how could you not!! The owners are very friendly and informative. They have a huge selection of sweets, and its the only place I know that stocks Levi's Reggae sauce. And to top it of I finally discovered the delicious raspberry sorbet. OMG it was soo good. If your ever in town I definentley recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great quirky sweet shop!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great little sweet shop, where you can buy pretty much any sweets you desire whilst listening to the owners' tales of how the shop came to be, and the history behind the many artefacts displayed on the walls. The owners are extremely friendly, and always eager to offer samples of their latest sweets. Recommended if you are having a wander around York!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slew_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YORK ICE CREAM BEST IN WA”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is official, York Ice Cream Co makes the best liquorice ice cream in Western Australia.

The company recently won a gold medal and championship sash for its liquorice ice cream in this year's Perth Royal Show competition. All 12 of its entries received awards, two gold and 10 silver medals, the most won by a single ice cream maker at the show.

York Ice Cream Co is owned and operated by Arnaud Courtin and business partner, Jenny Baxter. They also own and operate York Olive Oil Co from their factory and crushing plant on Ashworth Road.

Liquorice is a recent addition to the range of flavours Arnaud makes. It was inspired by local retailers Garry and Linda from Penny Farthing Sweets in Avon Terrace.

Arnaud was sceptical about liquorice, black ice cream isn't very attractive he thought, but eventually gave in and decided to give it a try. Garry and Linda supplied the liquorice in the form of the intensely flavoured Pontefract Cakes imported from the UK.

Using his traditional ice cream recipe flavoured with liquorice cakes, Arnaud was amazed at the end result and by all accounts, so were those who have tried it. "Even people not fond of liquorice reckon it is pretty good. "What is more, it isn't black but a pleasant coffee colour!" Arnaud said.

York Ice Cream Co makes its ice cream using time honoured recipes in batches of six litres at a time. "We use traditional French recipes tweaked a little to suit our conditions. "These include eggs and full cream milk pasteurized to maintain quality and flavour," he said.

"If we need 30 litres of ice cream we don't just increase the volume, we make five or six small batches. "You can't make one big mix and achieve the same quality and flavour. "It is a true artisan approach to ice cream making," Arnaud said.

Apart from the factory, the company's ice cream is only available from Penny Farthing Sweets in York.

THE BEST LITTLE LOLLIE SHOP IN TOWN!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellBelleSomeWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Farthing Sweets also viewed

 

Been to Penny Farthing Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing