We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers House York
Ranked #5 of 16 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we were there the hotel was nearing the end of being upgraded.This an old hotel by Australian dating and has some rooms in the old part but we were in a newish room,which suited us as we could park outside the room and organise for next day flight back to the UK.
Very,clean comfortable room.We were there on a Tuesday and so the restaurant was closed for evening meals and breakfast.We got the impression that several restaurants closed evenings till Weds/Thurs..
We ate at the hotel a few minutes,if that from the hotel.We had a superb meal and compared to some of the prices on our tour around SWAustralia thought this good value,with really lovely waiting staff.
York is a really lovely old town to visit with lots of colonial style buildings and very handily placed for Perth and airport

Room Tip: Some rooms front a road and local car park but not noisy ,but a garbage lorry collected bins quite e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 114 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed one night at the Settlers House hotel and were very pleased with our choice. It only reopened recently with a total inventory of 91 rooms ( i wonder how many times they will be full!).
The owner was very kind and helpful and although they were not serving breakfast (the reason is that there are many free standing eateries that do) but dinner was available from a very limited choice though including wines, many of which were from New Zealand (again the reason being they are cheaper than Australian wines!).
All in all a place to recommend with a good location on the main street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we foudn this place on the end of a short tour around South West Aus and it was a great hotel. I think it had only just been taken over when we visted (end oct 2012) and so was in the process of being rennovated etc. The owner was very helpful and our room was nice with all comforts and good value. there was no food at the time we visted but that was just in the process of being set up and the restaurant etc looked atmospheric. there is also a small pool to cool off in. the hotel itself is perfectly situated on the main street of York which is a town i adored. almost like time has stood still with independent shops, really friendly locals, a few food choices and just a great place. it is worth spending a couple of nights here and there are few things to do such as museums etc . it was the perfect end to a tour of one of the the most amazing countries in the world !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_t_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After being booked into this hotel at short notice, and after reading the reviews, I was not sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise awaited me. I was greeted by a lovely gentlemen whom has only just recently acquired the property, and is in the process of a major revamp of the property. I was offered either a four poster bedroom or a standard room. The room was bright and fresh and a lovely spa bath with added overhead shower. The bed was extremely comfortable with clean fresh linen. It has lovely double french doors that open onto a balcony on the first floor.The maid was very accommodating and was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. In my opinion this is a very good property just off the Main Street with a nice garden and swimming pool. The major plus though has to be the host; David, who goes out of his way to ensure a comfortable, pleasant stay. Next time I'm in York , The Settlers House will be my first port of call, Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: First floor as it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubastrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I am not sure about the accommodation as I only go to York on day trips with family and friends but we always have lunch at the Settlers House in York. The last time we were there, about three weeks ago it was fairly quiet in town and we were not sure if the restaurant was opened but we tried anyway and we were lucky.

The restaurant has two parts namely formal and semi formal (bar area) and we chose the informal area. There were four of us and we each tried something different and we were not disappointed. The service was very quick and helpful and the food arrived en masse so that no one was left without something in front of them. The variety of meals was top notch and the drinks were nice and cold and not too expensive.

The servings were large and reasonably priced ranging from $16.00 to $22.50 which is good value for an Australian restaurant. All in all the experience was very good and the service was great and we will be going back again.

Room Tip: A good day trip from Perth an ideally you should aim to get there about 10:00 - 11:00 to take the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We arrived as a family group, 6 adults and 2 infants for a Xmas in July function, we had paid a deposit upfront some 2 months prior to the function that included rooms, food and beverages for the Saturday, we decide beforehand that we would also stay the Friday night and make it a full weekend.

On arrival Friday afternoon they told us that they did not have a booking for us despite the fact we had emails to the contrary, they also told us that the function was cancelled, when the manager Mark was asked why we had not been informed, he muttered some lame excuse about phoning someone but could not get through, meanwhile there were 3 couples in the group and none of us had any missed calls or messages left.

He did offer to put us up free of charge for the Friday night but on inspection of the rooms we bolted, they were shocking, no table lamps, little furnishing and very dark and dreary to say the least, dont be fooled by the pictures on the website.

When the Manger Mark was askek why the function had been cancelled, again we got the mutter that it was personal, I can only guess that maybe Santa was ill because the kitchen was still operating on the night of the function.

It is now two weeks since the event and 2 months since the deposit was paid and we still do not have our deposit back despite numerous calls from myself and 3 others in the group.

Even today when I called Mark he assured me it had been paid but when asked to email or fax the remittance to me he muttered that the hotel does not have a scanner or fax.

Do yourself a favour and take a wide berth from this place, the locals warned us after the fact but I hope my message gets though to some more unsuspecting visitors.

The treatment and absolute ignorance from the Manager in this Hotel is woefull, do yourself a favour and take a wide berth.
.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel or take your own room with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrianB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We originally booked, on line, the 'Stay the Night' package; an upstairs Queen four poster suite, dinner for two and breakfast. Within an hour received a phone call to advise that the restaurant would not be available on the night booked, so we would now have a suite as described, with continental breakfast only. We confirmed this offer, for $110.
When we arrived at 4pm, the whole place seemed deserted, the pool area was fenced off with a notice regarding closure due to building works. The Restaurant sign said 'closed'. There was a sign saying 'Reception' further into the courtyard, but all the doors in that passaway were closed. We walked round the various courtyards for 10-15 minutes trying to find someone to check us in. Hearing a voice from upstairs, my husband went to investigate and in a corner room was a man hunched over a computer. His presentation was unshaven, singlet and tracky pants. His abrupt greeting '...oh you're the late check ins? I'll meet you downstairs' He disappeared rapidly down internal stairs, leaving my husband to find his own way down from the balcony. We eventually found him behind the (previously locked) restaurant entrance.
He said that he needed to access our credit card immediately because the power was to be turned off early the next day, and while swiping the card, said we would have to be up before 7am or we wouldn't be able to shower and by the way he couldn't provide breakfast (because of the power) I asked if there was a toaster in the room, because we had some of our own basic supplies, he said he would give us one 'in the morning' not offering any discount for non provision of breakfast.
This is when (in hindsight) we should have cancelled and walked out, but were overwhelmed by his size,impatience and aggresive tone.
He led us to a room downstairs. Nothing like the 'Classic Colonial Decor', just a small double bed, a rickety stand for the TV and that was it - apart from leaves and dirt on the floor...Without comment he walked off, shutting the door.
The TV was tiny, plugged into a dubiously cracked power point with exposed wires on the floor. There was one low wattage bulb centrally hung in the bedroom, the bathroom had a small barred window, very dimly lit. No electric hot water jug, no fridge, no chairs or other comforts. We turned on the TV, it was black and white, but jagged reception and crackling sound.
We went back to the restaurant/reception area, which was all closed up again. No sign of the man anywhere now, so we just walked out.

I understand (from the lady at the B&B we found) that there were genuine problems after the disastrous storm, and that there had been some power outs recently. There was no cut at the B&B and when we drove up the main street it seemed everything was business as usual.
I realise I should not have been so easily intimidated, but have just found the site again, and can't believe they are still operating after our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goldie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nosh & Nod
The Nosh & Nod
#10 of 16 in York
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faversham House York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
0 mi away
Avon Accommodation York
0.1 mi away
The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers House York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers House York

Address: 125 Avon Tce, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers House York 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original section of this beautiful Heritage Colonial hotel was built in 1845 and has seen a vast businesses operations within its walls. If those walls could talk they would surely have many a story given that it was originally one of the en-route stops to the goldfields in the gold rush days. Accommodation varies from modern early 2000's construction to the Heritage style rooms situated in our rear courtyard offering a lovely sense of yesteryear comfort. The new owners opened the restaurant areas in late Oct/Nov 2015 and offer quality value for money meals in a beautiful and unique atmosphere, complete with air-conditioning in the summer and warm, inviting open fireplace in the winter. Various weekend entertainment is held most weekends for the enjoyment of our guests and townspeople alike. The Historic York town is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway or family trip. Given that we are only about 1 hours drive from Perth, Settlers House York is the perfect place for your stay or take the short drive for a weekend lunch in our shady courtyard. We look forward to seeing you "settle in at Settlers"... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Settlers House York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing