We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at the resturant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food at the resturant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had dinner here and where well looked after with delicious food. With Friendly staff, this always helps.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartfelt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury , Western Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The rooms were tired and dirty, the towels threadbare, the bath mouldy and there was no remote to the TV which had very bad reception.However what astounded us the next morning was when tried the door to the dining area for our breakfast (included in our tariff ) it was locked as was every other door into the hotel, Several irate guests were outside waiting to pay their account or to have breakfast. When we rang the hotel number it went to answering machine so we all had to go over the road to a cafe for breakfast. When reception opened at 9am there was no apology for the lack of service which was explained as "just a little lack of communication with staff!" and "breakfast is complimentary anyway!" I have never encountered such unprofessional staff with so little regard for their guests.They even tried to charge us more than the quoted price for our room! Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Castle recently . It is a beautiful building with central staircase and has so much potential. We were in a lovely, big room overlooking the pool area in the motel section.There were two Queen beds. However it was dirty. The back of the door was grubby The bedding didnt feel clean, the pillows were thin and horrible. If I stayed again I would take my own sheets and pillow . Finding the breakfast room was test and when we did find it the doors to a beatuiful verandah area were padlocked, no staff sighted and we had to eat our cornflakes with a teaspoon. . Its is desperate for some loving care.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed there one long w/end and loved the relaxed time we had there.
The hotel staff were very helpful and cheery.
The rooms are quite large and very clean.
Meals are served in the bistro, bar or the dining room. Your choice.
The pool was a nice welcome after a nice walk around the quaint town of York.
York was the first inland town established outside of Perth. It has a lot of old old buildings and lots of place to see and within walking distance to the town.
There are other towns around York as it is farming wheat and sheep country.
Lovely countryside as well.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Near the swimming pool on a hot night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Coming from Perth there was a group of 17 of us on a trip away for our staff Christmas party, we booked out one of the function rooms hoping for a nice night out but from the moment we steped off the bus we were faced with judgement and rudeness. althought the food was quite nice were not asked how we would like the meat cooked and were made to feel scared to ask for drink resulting in having to travel from the dinner table down to the bar and back to get our own drinks throughout the night. The longer we stayed and after a bit of karaoke a couple of the staff did warm to us but unfortunately as a result of the night I would never recommend the castle and will be advising anyone considering going to think again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chooka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

After having spent many a night over the years in Yorks Castle hotel i was saddened to find the Motel section of this grand old pub is in a worst state than its ever been. Now i know it caters mainly for road and rail workers during the week but for over a hundred dollars a night one would expect a lot better than it is. Carpets worn and dirty, bath tiles loose and mouldy, even the skirting boards in the hall are missing. This motel could be a winner if a bit of money and care was given to it but at the moment it is just a place to bunk down. Pity because the meals in the Hotel are great and the service top notch and the location is hard to beat .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
0.3 mi away
Faversham House York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avon Accommodation York
0.2 mi away
The Nosh & Nod
The Nosh & Nod
#9 of 17 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: 95-97 Avon Tce, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing