We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
224
35
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
35
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea scones room was large homemade yogurt grand piano home made other guests home away from home poached pear suspension bridge modern home town centre a great place to stay delicious breakfast on arrival comfortable rooms living room
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 269 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

A wonderful relaxing stay of 3 nights. Welcomed with afternoon tea served with homemade cheesecake. Immediately made to feel right at home with 2 other couples and hosts Leanne and Ron. Anything needed they were always ready to oblige. The room I had was huge with a very comfortable bed. Lovely breakfasts with homegrown fare in attractive surroundings. This b n b is well located, a 12 min stroll to town via the swinging suspension bridge. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank spaves2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhouse6302, Owner at The Grandhouse York B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to lodge this review and we appreciate your very positive feedback. We also think we are perfectly positioned, far enough away from the main street of york to avoid the main street noise/nonsense but close enough for a lovely stroll to appreciate all that our little "high street" has to offer. We are pleased that your enjoyed our home made delights, particularly this week as we focused on supporting local strawberry farmers with offerings of strawberry cheesecake, vanilla and strawberry cupcakes and finally scones with home made strawberry jam! We look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest Regards Ron and Leanne Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Everything was perfect. Lovely owners. Beautiful room and guest area (with open fire) with lots of extra treats (wine, port...). Very good breakfast. The recommended pub was great, and thank you for the warning about the portion size. We shared the (recommended) beef cheeks and hardly managed them between us. There was no room for dessert left.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We were visiting York as part of a group celebrating a friend's birthday. Our group of 3 wanted two rooms that would be warm and comfortable, at a reasonable price and relatively close to the town center The Grandhouse seemed to fit the bill from the available properties. The fact that breakfast was included was a bonus. The property was easy to find and our warm welcome included freshly made scones and cream for afternoon tea - a nice touch. Our King room had plenty of room to move around with a comfortable bed and couch. We appreciated that the bathroom was fitted with a wall heater. Breakfast in the morning was an extensive and tasty continental served in a delightful room that made good use of the morning (winter) sun. Our hosts delivered excellent service in a relaxed and homely atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We have stayed at many B&B places all over the world but this one would have to rank amongst the best. My wife and I went to York, having never been there before, for a weekend of relaxation and fun.
Our welcome was friendly, warm and it made us feel so much at home right from the start. One of our hosts, Leeanne (aka Sybil) was most obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for her.
We were shown to our room, the Grand View (Rm 1) and were suitably impressed with the size of the room, it is one of many in this purpose built B&B setting which is within walking distance of the town centre, the size of the ensuite and the furnishings throughout. You want for nothing.
The hosts provide free wifi, DVDs, books, afternoon tea, complimentary wine, sherry and port and there is even a grand piano in the communal living area for those who have a musical orientation.
The breakfast, included in your tariff, is more than adequate and sets you up for the day.
You are encouraged to treat the place as your home and we did. We have never felt so at home in a B&B in the past and we give Ron and Leeanne top marks for the way they present their establishment. Unfortunately it was freezing cold when we went there but we also noticed a BBQ outside which would be great for those summer visits.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We had a lovely time at this B and B. The hospitality of Ron and Leanne was extremely warm and friendly, our room was lovely and clean, it is walking distance to town and the breakfast (which was included) was delicious. Ron’s spiced pears are amazing. We left our jackets in the wardrobe, which they posted back to us and we got them by the end of the week. Highly recommend Grandhouse York to anyone who is thinking of visiting the area.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank rog144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews