We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grandhouse York B&B
Nearby Hotels
York Motel(York)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$117
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wattle Grove Motel(Wattle Grove)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges(Pickering Brook)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
213
35
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
35
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand housesconesgrand pianoroom was largehomemade yogurtcontinental breakfast ishome away from homehome madeother guestscomplimentary portevening portliving areapoached pearon arrivalattending a weddingmodern home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 258 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Grandhouse York B&B was excellent all round. The host Leanne could not do enough for us.
The excellent service highlighted the mediocre service we had received at the previous nights B & B stay.
When next in the region, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcatonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our first time at the Grandhouse was an amazing weekender (3 years ago) given to us by our 3 kids for our 23rd Wedding Anniversary and we vowed we would return to be treated to the warm and welcoming hospitality of Leanne and Ron Lee again one day.
This past weekend (15th Sept 2012) we treated my husbands parents to an overnighter and we booked the Grand Elegant and Grand Garden Rooms for our stay/s.
Again we were not disappointed. The place was as welcoming and as inviting as ever and Leanne looked after us wonderfully. What a power-packed fun lady she is. She has certainly found her calling being a B&B hostess. Her warmth and her attention to detail is amazing and we were blown away by the afternoon tea and continental breakfast included with our stays. Leanne was very accomodating in catering for my husband's wheat and gluten intolerance. He really appreciated the special muffins for afternoon tea and the pancakes made especailly for him for breakfast. Very much appreciated Leanne (you are a gem)!
I would recommend the Grandhouse to anyone wanting to stay in a 'Grandhouse'. The relaxed and tranquil rural setting is as much the appeal to this place as the wonderful owners who look after their guests so well. We will be back again. I am hoping not to leave it so long between visits next time!

Room Tip: We have been happy with all rooms we have stayed in. Front rooms have roller shutters for extra privacy. All have air con/heating.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butteflycarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Enjoyed my short but sweet 1 night stay at this quaint little cottage. Very comfortable bed and lovely spacious bathroom including an old-style bathtub which I wish I'd had time to soak in but alas! My host (Bronwyn) was very knowledgeable about the history of the cottage, and while I didn't take up the offer of the complimentary home-cooked breakfast, Bronywn was more than happy to cater to any of my dietary needs! However, important to advise of your dietary restrictions prior to arrival : )

Recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hema R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the afternoon tea on arrival, the option of sherry in the evening and a very full breakfast in the morning! Also appreciated the information that Leanne gave us by text before we came to make sure we could find the place OK. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the outdoor space in the sun was lovely to sit in. There is a rooster who gets up earlier than we do, but that was OK.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper in the morning you might ask for a room that isn't so close to the rooster. The roller shades didn't really stop us hearing him, but we did go back to sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here two nights and had a great time. Very friendly and Leeanne could not do enough for you. Would recommend it to everyone. We will be staying there again in the future. The afternoon teas were to die for.

Room Tip: There is a room which has its own access to the spa room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuLu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews