We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Homestead
Nearby Hotels
$146
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$117
$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$76
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$103
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$130
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges(Pickering Brook)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
77
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquilting retreatnext yearhome away from homecraft roomgold roomgreat hostscant waitcoffee machinelong weekendtwo nightsgorgeous viewsfood was lovelyany sortnatural lightnice breakfastcomfortable roomsshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at Avalon Homestead a number of times and find it always a lovely experience. Peter and Delveen are always approachable and the rooms are comfy and homely. Peters cooking is always to die for. And the views are just out of this world.
I would highly recommend Avalon Homestead to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delveen and Pet... W, Owner at Avalon Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Avalon, We do appreciate it. Our regular guests are the backbone of our business, so we will continue to try to meet your expectations while at the same time improving our facilities. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visiting Avalon Homestead in April for a quilting retreat was the most relaxing time I'd had in forever.
Delveen & Peter open the homestead up and welcome you to their home. The majestic surroundings can't help but put you at peace. Food is out of this world, Pete cooks up a mean feast fit for kings & queens.
All the accommodation is at a premium with the most comfortable beds, beautiful fully equipped bathrooms and all the amenities of home. The kettle is always on and Delveen & Peter will go out of their way to meet any requirements you may have.
A visit to feed the goats is a must and the local bird life comes for a visit daily.
I can't wait for the next opportunity to pay them a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delveen and Pet... W, Owner at Avalon Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Wow. What a wonderful review you have written for Your recent stay with us. Thank You very much. Hopefully we can make any future stays as enjoyable for You as this one was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights as part of a knitting retreat. Delveen and Peter bent over backwards to provide the food I needed; the rooms were comfortable, and the lounge areas and conference room were both excellent spaces to spend hours and hours crafting in.

+ Great food
+ Comfortable beds
+ Accomodating and friendly hosts

- Bathroom was small, but did the job

Overall: highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delveen and Pet... W, Owner at Avalon Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Many Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Avalon, We pleased that you were comfortable & that you enjoyed your stay. It was an great weekend with your group staying, while having the "Back to Back wool challenge" running at the same time. I am pleased that I could meet your dietary needs. Looking forward to your groups retreat next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had the pleasure of many stays at Avalon Homestead. Always a pleasure to arrive and dont leave without another commitment to return. Great spot, excellent service, good company. Will not disappoint.
Marilyn, Perth , May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MallyWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delveen and Pet... W, Owner at Avalon Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, We do appreciate it when people who have stayed take the time to do so. Also thanks for being a regular guest at Avalon, Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Another wonderful craft weekend at Avalon. Peter and Delvene made us feel so welcomed, and even though I had special dietary requirements, Peter created the most wonderful meals for me, even down to his deluxe homemade Gluten Free bread. I would absolutely recommend this as a getaway for 2, 4 or more for a craft or look at the area holiday. People with dietary issues can be completely comfortable that Delvene and Peter have your best interests at heart, ensuring a delicious and broad range of meals. Looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Room Tip: If you love the sound of trains, pick a room on the front side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delveen and Pet... W, Owner at Avalon Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank You for your kind words when reviewing your stay at Avalon last weekend. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & that I could work around your dietary issues.Looking forward to when you and your group return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews