We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toodyay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Limes Orchard & Farm Stay
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent a beautiful Easter break at The Limes with our two children. The chalet was very well appointed with two bedrooms, both with large, luxurious en suite bathrooms. You could see the attention to detail in things like the lovely thick towels, body wash on tap in the showers, a well appointed kitchen with all amenities, foxtel tv etc. The owners are a lovely couple who provide a delicious breakfast basket for the first morning. Ours included hot cross buns (being Easter), cereal and lovely homemade lime marmalade made from the Limes in their orchard.
The view from the chalet was breathtaking overlooking the rolling hills of West Toodyay. We spent the evenings on the veranda having dinner, drinking a nice bottle of red, watching the sun go down over the hills and the magnificent sunsets.
The kids especially loved running around the open space, playing on the playground and feeding the farm animals. I have already recommended this place to close friends and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelV342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are a family of 6 from Singapore and we just spent a wonderful 3-day farm stay at the Limes Orchard Farmstay.

The hosts are terrific and never got sick of our requests and enquiries. Thanks to the mobile broadband arranged by Phil, my hubby could work smoothly even at the farm. In the farm, you can feed the alpacas, lamas, sheep and chickens. Jenny is kind enough to let us pick up a few limes from her lime trees...and also kids got a chance to collect fresh eggs from the free range chicken farm....The eggs were still warm when we collected them and the soft boiled eggs were just terrific!

Oh and also the tractor ride was something really special for my kids. There is also a small playground nearby the chalet so children have some activities besides feeding the animals.

It's about a 10 minutes drive from the Farm to the Toodyay town where you could do your groceries shopping at the IGA supermarket. The kitchen in the farm has everything you need for cooking and you could even do a BBQ outside the chalet.

The views and scenery were so relaxing and unforgettable, especially at dawn and sunrise. Occasionally, there was a train passing by the valley and just made the view more breathtaking.

It was an easy and lovely drive from the Perth Airport to the Limes at Toodyay which took us about 1.5 hours. It is one of the few farms which are not too far from Perth city. We highly recommend this farm and we will definite visit the Limes again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We've been 3 times and every time we've enjoyed the country hospitality. The chalets are lovely and overlooking the lovely Avon Valley and the wood fire in winter is wonderful and the bedrooms and ensuites are spacious and clean and better than in a lot of top hotels in WA.

Phil and Jenny are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much for them. Can only recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great experience for both my husband and I who (1) live in a very small island & city called singapore (2) experience only the hustle bustle of city life. The Lime offered us hard to come by farm stay, with well equipped (complete ktichen appliances and fridge) and comfortable homely chalet where groceries could be found in a few minute drive to the toodyay town centre. My husband loves to drive & so we drove to few other nearby towns and explored (50min to 1.5hr drive per town) on our own in the 4-5day trip - but thank God we met very friendly staff at visitor centres of each town and the locals that readily helped us! Swan valley, airport and beaches are all accessible with smooth & easy drive of an hour or so on average. Thankful to Phil for his great flexibility in letting us check-in early and check-out at our own pace and time. Most of all, I am impressed by his responsiveness to all my email enquiries before i even booked the place months ago. Great and value for money trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faith TYH t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Watch Lama good sheep also very lime taste .
Phil a Jenny much nicer, tecks Dog nicer also . Big chicken fun coop have
Soft bed me like , warm weather hot not me know now
Recoedmend u like me i did.

akira Suzuki San

Room Tip: shugargum best pleased cabin type yum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheecharoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Travelling with another couple, we stayed in one of the Chalets at the Limes in October 2012 as the last stopover on a trip around the south west of WA. . The accomodation was the best we had on the trip and it is diffciult to recal when we have had better anywhere in Australia. We enjoyed it more that the top hotels. We had a bedroom and ensuite at each end of the Chalet with the living area in beteween, it was very private and comfortable for both couples and we felt very at home. The furniture was top quality including comfortable beds and excellent appliances. Everything was spotlessly clean and no expense was spared by Phil and Jenny who did everything to make us feel welcome. The outside scenery over the farm and across the valey made for a great stay. We wished we had been able to stay longer.
It was a bit off the beaten track but Phil's directions were excellent. We will try to get back to the Limes whenever we travel to WA.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My adult daughter and I had 3 lovely days at the Limes in May this year. the views are expansive in every direction and both sunset and sunrise were a treat and the setting was idyllic! outdoor facilities were great for eating on the patio.
The spacious 2 bedroom cottage was beautifully appointed with everything we could need or want. the place was perfectly clean and all the bedding and towels were of the highest standard.
The cost was modest indeed for what was provided. Our hosts were non-intrusive but very helpful.
We would recommend this cottage to 1 or 2 couples or to families looking for a country get away from perth for a few days or longer...it is an easy drive to other interesting sights and Toodyay itself offers some lovely shopping , cafes and an excellent supermarket. The cottage design is excellent as the bedrooms are separated by the large living area. I will return when next in perth if i possibly can!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toodyay
1.0 mi away
Floravalley Bed & Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Black Wattle Retreat
Black Wattle Retreat
#3 of 8 in Toodyay
49 reviews
22.0 mi away
Bindoon's Windmill Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Orchard & Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Orchard & Farm Stay

Address: 57 Clarkson St, Toodyay, Western Australia 6566, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > Toodyay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Toodyay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in our unique self catering chalets sitting on 25 acres overlooking the Avon Valley just 4kms from the town centre. The views are expansive and some of the best in Toodyay. Both chalets have 2 bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom. There is a large lounge, dining area and well-equipped kitchen. There is a wood fire and a reverse cycle air conditioner - warm and cosy in Winter, cool and relaxed in Summer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing