We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pilbara Stop Over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom Price Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tom Price
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom Price Tourist Park
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pilbara Stop Over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed overnight in a 'Green Room', I have previously stayed in the "A" frame Chalets. Both rooms are well appointed and always clean, the staff is frendly and helpful. The grounds are clean and well maintained. The rooms are not cheap, but relative to surrounding towns, reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    52
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
20
58
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great caravan park for the traveller whether in a tent to caravan. On site accommodation is also available. In the heart of the Pilbara Western Australia, it is the western gateway to the Karijini National Park.
The park has great camp kitchen with plenty of room for all.
The abolutions were large and basic caravan park style.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cost for powered site was $42-$45 per night.

Only down side is that there are some residents who start work at wierd hours, but you must expect that in a mining town.
After travelling for some time the green grass was a welcome site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingpete72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on an unpowered tent site on our way between Karijini and Exmouth. We were thinking of getting a powered site to recharge camera batteries etc but once we found out it was $42 for a powered site compared to $28 for an unpowered site we soon changed out mind.

The camp kitchen was spotless and had lots of facilities. The ablutions were also spotless, with hot hot water (which was really nice after staying in Karijini for 3 nights).

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Priestleyleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed three nights here on a powered site and found the park to be convenient, clean and most adequate. The pool is roomy and naturally unheated.
Of course there is little choice and if you have driven all the way in, where else do you go if you want to be on power?
Our gripe was the same you find with so many parks; the website announced one price and we were confronted with another $4 more on check-in. However we kicked up a fuss, still paid the inflated price and said we expected the website corrected immediately. And so it was! Pays to mouth off at reception sometimes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in "A "frame unit. Prices have gone up to $205 a night.... A night!!! $205 to sleep on an old concrete mattress . All mattress's were the same :-( not great after or b4 a long drive . Would def NOT recommend if u have back probs or r looking for a well earned great night sleep after exploring karijini- Bit stingy on "complimentary" tea n coffee Also.
Come on guys u have a beaut location and are making a killing do the right thing by your guests and invest in new mattress's and put out a couple more coffee sticks n tea bags.
Oh and make sure the batteries in the remotes all work espech the aircon..


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastPilbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one night at a powered campervan site. Friendly staff and clean bathrooms. The kitchen area was not very new, nor very clean. One of the barbecues was not working. Pool feels a bit like a prison and doesn't have any showers which suggests is not very clean. Judging from the parl's signs and posters, there seems to be a large permanent resident community and they seem to have had issues with children sparying faeces on the bathrooms' walls but, fortunately, we didn't see any of that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here January 2013 after reading reviews about the Eco Retreat and how ghastly it is. It really is a superior spot to launch your explorations into the Karijini National Park and other sites in the area. We had a powered site for out caravan, a bit pricy in the off season at $38 I thought but then got slugged $52 a night at the BIG4 in Port Hedland. Needless to say we only spent 1 night there. We ended up staying 3 nights at the Tom Price CP, it was shady, toilets were clean and I had to laugh when three frogs came flying out when I flushed the toilet LOL ... Karijini was spectacular with EASY walks to each scenic lookout to each gorge. The Tom Price mine tour was sensational and the best of 3 mine tours that included Kalgoorlie (very good) and Mount Whaleback in Newman (not so good) the only thing to see in Newman is the mine and after enduring a monotone never ending guides narration of the site, and a dhead down the back of the bus in a green helmet trying to conduct his own tour, I felt like cutting my wrists!! and hot? Oh boy... give it a BIG miss.. the other thing to do and see in Tom Price is to drive up Mt Nameless (if you have a 4x4 and a good ticker) its one of the most spectacular mountain lookouts I’ve ever seen with 4 or 5 outpoints to stop and take photos.. excellent!!go to Tom Price, go to the TP caravan park, enjoy the wildlife in your toilet (lol) and get out to Karijini, the Mine Tour and the Mountain!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tom Price
0.0 mi away
Mary's Farm Cottages
Mary's Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Lake Grace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tom Price Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Price Tourist Park

Property: Tom Price Tourist Park
Address: Tom Price Tourist Park, Tom Price, Western Australia 6751, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > The Pilbara > Tom Price
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tom Price
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing