We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Shady spot in the middle of the outback”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tom Price
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom Price Tourist Park
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here January 2013 after reading reviews about the Eco Retreat and how ghastly it is. It really is a superior spot to launch your explorations into the Karijini National Park and other sites in the area. We had a powered site for out caravan, a bit pricy in the off season at $38 I thought but then got slugged $52 a night at the BIG4 in Port Hedland. Needless to say we only spent 1 night there. We ended up staying 3 nights at the Tom Price CP, it was shady, toilets were clean and I had to laugh when three frogs came flying out when I flushed the toilet LOL ... Karijini was spectacular with EASY walks to each scenic lookout to each gorge. The Tom Price mine tour was sensational and the best of 3 mine tours that included Kalgoorlie (very good) and Mount Whaleback in Newman (not so good) the only thing to see in Newman is the mine and after enduring a monotone never ending guides narration of the site, and a dhead down the back of the bus in a green helmet trying to conduct his own tour, I felt like cutting my wrists!! and hot? Oh boy... give it a BIG miss.. the other thing to do and see in Tom Price is to drive up Mt Nameless (if you have a 4x4 and a good ticker) its one of the most spectacular mountain lookouts I’ve ever seen with 4 or 5 outpoints to stop and take photos.. excellent!!go to Tom Price, go to the TP caravan park, enjoy the wildlife in your toilet (lol) and get out to Karijini, the Mine Tour and the Mountain!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Tom Price Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

At $39 pp a night, it's one of the more expensive backpacker places I've stayed in - but then again; it is a mining town. Rooms were ok - more like portacom styled, but at least they had A/C. Some rooms had seating and a TV, but not ours. For the Christmas period: 24th-25th Dec 2012, it sure was packed though!

Room Tip: Nice friendly service! Given it was Xmas eve 2012...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Tom Price Tourist Park for 4 nights in November 2012. We wanted to visit Karijini National Park, and apart from the Eco Retreat in the Park itself, there are not too many options in the area. So we booked a "deluxe" chalet (two bedroom) at the Tourist Park. It was a so-called A-frame villa. It did not have an outside sitting area, you had to take a diningroom chair outside and sit beside the chalet. The interior of the chalet looks very tired and worn. The couch in the living area was taped together in places. The kitchen cupboards are dirty. We washed up every piece of cutlery and all the pots and pans before using them, and cleaned out the kitchen-drawers because they felt greasy and dirty. The bathroom is big enough, but very damp, and we did not dare open a window because the fly-screens were torn and we did not want to invite more bugs inside than there already were. We found little frogs in the bathroom (I did not really mind, frogs are not filthy), and an awful lot of mosquitoes. I moved a shoe in the living room and a cockroach scurried away. I know it's the outback, and I know there are bugs, but cockroaches inside to me is a sign that cleaning is not a priority. The master bedroom is upstairs, but it's open plan so it's really in the living area. The airconditioner of the master bedroom is also the airconditioner for the living area. The second bedroom has two beds, which are very short. The beds are not really bad. The tourist park itself is actually very nice, the location is pretty (on the edge of town), there are lots of beautiful birds in the trees. The drive to Karijini takes about an hour, which is quite long, but again, there are not very many other places to stay and visit Karijini, which is a shame because it is a beautiful national park. Because of the limited options, the Tourist Park and the Eco retreat can ask any ridiculous price they want. And they do. I would not like to stay there again, but if you want to visit Karijini........you may have to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoniekEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The park is not great but fairly average for an outback campground in the middle of nowhere. It was not that dirty either except for the plumbing fixtures that were in pretty bad shape. Nothing really striking except the two receptionists we had to deal with who were quite rude and despicable. It also is overpriced and we had only one key for both bathrooms while we were 4 (3 girls and 1 guy)... pretty convenient right? Don't count on the receptionist's help in case of problem of any kind, they're just not willing to help with anything and they're absolutely not accommodating (our car broke down there). The only bright side was the maintenance staff who were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My first problem came with my e-mail booking - clearly stating four nights that somehow became only one night. Fortunately it was rectified before we arrived, but then came a problem with the balance we had to pay, and the receptionist was unnecessarily rude. I had booked a "deluxe chalet" but what a laugh that description is. Our cooking utensils consisted of two frying pans and one saucepan. A notice taped to the oven door stated it was out of order.
I did not expect luxury in this outback area, but "deluxe" for this unit is ridiculous.
If I may add something unrelated to the unit, the supermarket in Tom Price is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tom Price Tourist Park is the only campground in this area and we heard not only nice things about it. But it was really ok for one night. The staff was friendly and the pool, which looks not so nice on the first look, was a refreshing experience after 3 days in red dust.
The kitchen is very big and clean. There were a lot of people (most of them mining workers), but all were very friendly. The facilities were great, nothing to complain about. We liked it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed in an A Frame deluxe cabin. Unsure of what to expect so far from civilization! The unit had a bedroom with two singles downstairs and a queen size bed in the loft area. As we were feeling very weary after a long drive we opted for the singles downstairs. Very brave of my husband how is 6 foot 4 inches and dangled over the edge of the bed! We only stayed one night so it was OK. There was an airconditioner in both bedrooms that we did not use. Kitchen was adequate with a reasonable size fridge, stove with an oven and a microwave and all cooking and eating utensils. The bathroom was disappointing with tiles falling off the shower recess and the ceilings covered in mould. TV was ultra small. Lots of rules to make sure you don't disturb the miners on night shift. Expensive but it is a mining town and a long way from anything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tom Price Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Price Tourist Park

Address: Nameless Valley Drive, Tom Price, Western Australia 6751, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > The Pilbara > Tom Price
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tom Price
Price Range: $6 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravan Park and accommodation park based at the foot of Mount Nameless. We have family chalets, double rooms, budget rooms and backpacker accommodation as well as powered and un powered caravan sites and camp sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing