We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't think they're opened anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton's at the Ocean Club - CLOSED

Carlton's at the Ocean Club
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, American
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
north carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I don't think they're opened anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Used to be Carlton's as a stand alone restaurant and was wonderful. They moved to the Ocean Club in their spa building and it was never the same. Miss the old Carlton's. I think now they only do catering and maybe lunches for people receiving spa treatments.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank atlbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not good for large parties”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Went to a company party a few years ago that Carlton's catered and everything ran out before all the guests even arrived. They were given an estimate of the number attending (and less showed up that expected), but the food selection was minimal and they only provided about half of what most caterers would have for that amount of people. We got there about 15 minutes after the party kicked off and there was nothing left but a few chicken chunks, boiled shrimp, and raw roast beef slices on toothpicks, along with some stale rolls. Several people who showed up after us didn't get anything at all. Even worse, they closed the wine and beer bar before everyone had used the drink tickets that had been pre-paid for the employees. Giant rip off. Unless they have improved, I would not recommend them for a large party.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank covermeimgoingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carlton's Crab Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Superb! Dth it.icy but worelicious! Outstanding! A bit pr

Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Just too uppity for the beach”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Cut me a break? Fine dining at the beach? It is just way too much for the beach. I will say that there has always been a croud of locals dining, but it is just not our cup of tea. I just wasn't comfortable and found it quite pricey.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank a36redbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Best seafood AROUND!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Carton's restaurant has closed. They now just offer catering and Beach Bakes "to go". Patrick, the owner and chef, delivers everything to your beach house, ready to cook. He includes easy to follow steaming/baking instructions. It was DELICIOUS. Seriously, the best seafood I've ever had. I highly recommend the crab cakes. All you have to do is leave the pot on the porch the next morning for pick up. By far the best food we've had all week.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasetheace66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlton's at the Ocean Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing