We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem ... But Watch Out for the Cactus!”

Review of Solitude

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Salter Path, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gaynor H
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem ... But Watch Out for the Cactus!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great house in a superb location if you're looking for beach time. Literally 10 steps down a small slope to the beach after you cross the front yard. Note that there are not actually wooden steps down to the beach ... It is a sandy slope. There is structured wooden beach access close by though.

Very quiet and secluded ... The name is very apt. It's located on a private road.

The only thing that stopped me from giving 4 stars are ... The kitchen could use some more equipment ... Most noticeably a kettle. A blender would be nice too. There is a washer and dryer which was a plus. DVD player would be a plus ... There are Netflix capabilities but it's via a Playstation 3 and if you don't have a Playstation account you're not getting Netflix.

But these are wishlist things that can be worked around ... The only thorn (excuse the pun) in Solitudes side are the cacti that are studded throughout the yard ... Front and back. The property is pet friendly and does indeed have a well fenced in yard; however, the cactus are definitely an issue. Our daughter found out the hard way by cutting across the front yard barefoot the first night we were there. Very painful. I would not let our dog run free in the yard if we brought him ... The cacti are unavoidable. I read a post from a previous tenant where they had encountered them too and a reply was made that the cacti are native to North Carolina and there's not much that can be done ... OK ... But the two properties directly next to Solitude DO NOT have this issue in their yards. We've stayed at other properties in the vicinity and have never encountered them before so there must be a way to get rid of/prevent them. Highly recommend this be done and then Solitude gets 5 stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cactus
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynorh76...
1 review
“A Hidden Gem ... But Watch Out for the Cactus!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great house in a superb location if you're looking for beach time. Literally 10 steps down a small slope to the beach after you cross the front yard. Note that there are not actually wooden steps down to the beach ... It is a sandy slope. There is structured wooden beach access close by though.

Very quiet and secluded ... The name is very apt. It's located on a private road.

The only thing that stopped me from giving 4 stars are ... The kitchen could use some more equipment ... Most noticeably a kettle. A blender would be nice too. There is a washer and dryer which was a plus. DVD player would be a plus ... There are Netflix capabilities but it's via a Playstation 3 and if you don't have a Playstation account you're not getting Netflix.

But these are wishlist things that can be worked around ... The only thorn (excuse the pun) in Solitudes side are the cacti that are studded throughout the yard ... Front and back. The property is pet friendly and does indeed have a well fenced in yard; however, the cactus are definitely an issue. Our daughter found out the hard way by cutting across the front yard barefoot the first night we were there. Very painful. I would not let our dog run free in the yard if we brought him ... The cacti are unavoidable. I read a post from a previous tenant where they had encountered them too and a reply was made that the cacti are native to North Carolina and there's not much that can be done ... OK ... But the two properties directly next to Solitude DO NOT have this issue in their yards. We've stayed at other properties in the vicinity and have never encountered them before so there must be a way to get rid of/prevent them. Highly recommend this be done and then Solitude gets 5 stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cactus
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm afraid that what you described is probably sand spurs which unfortunately plague our island. I'm not certain as to what can be done, but I have passed your review on to our maintenance department so they can check it out and work to remedy the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Solitude. This home provides the perfect spot to getaway and enjoy a relaxing week at the beach and I'm happy to know that you enjoyed it.

This Oceanfront home is near the protective dunes and the pathway which you described is that which takes you over the dune to the beach. Due to the vegetation protecting the dune, restrictions on trimming, cutting, etc. are in place to ensure the dune remains for the protection of our island and homes.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next vacation to the Crystal Coast so please call us when you begin making you plans - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WV
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Solitude. I know it is disappointing when you arrive to find that there is an issue which prevents you from staying in the place you originally reserved. Fortunately, this doesn't occur often. When it does, we do work hard to find a comparable property for your stay. In your case, we were happy to upgrade you to an Oceanfront home and I'm pleased to know that you did enjoy the location. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing