We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Good Place to Eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frost Seafood House - CLOSED

Frost Seafood House
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the Heart of Salter Path . . . .
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Very Good Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have eaten at Frost 4 times on 2 separate trips, 4 adults and 2 teen boys. I have to say we enjoyed every meal. Staff are more than friendly and very attentive, the food is excellent, and the prices are not too high for the beach area. Even my parents liked it - they are pickier eaters, and went back on their own for a second dinner! The boys loved their chocolate chip pancakes and carolina barbecue- I go for the sweet tea! My husband is the seafood guy, and after eating his flounder, he polished off the remainder of my scallops and crab cakes, which I could not finish - portions are large! A nice family atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fingertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    19
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We went to this restaraunt looking for good local eats while we were on vacationing in Salter Path. The staff we encountered were friendly and we were seated fairly quickly. We had a party of four consisting of two adults and two kids. The booth we sat in was pretty cramped which was surprising considering the kids are only 6 and 8 and the two adults aren't very big.
The food overall was hit and miss. The hushpuppies that came out before our meal were outstanding. Our entrees, fried clams, fried sea scallops, and fried shrimp (most of the menu items are fried seafood) were very good. The sides, fried okra, cole slaw, french fries, and green beans weren't very good.
We also had one chicken nuggets kids meal that consisted of chicken nuggets you can easily find in the frozen section of your local grocery store and again the french fries that came with it weren't very good.
Overall, the whole experience felt average. We are debating whether we would go back. While the seafood itself was really good, shouldn't it be if you're that close to the ocean?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If your expectations are not high, you might be satisfied.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

After reading the other reviews, we decided to give frosts a shot. We've been coming to the area for 20 plus years, and the last time we ate at frosts it was bad, so we've never been back. We had a party of 11 and we love traditional carolina fried seafood, but this place does not stack up at all. We should have ate at the Crab Shack or even the Big Oak. The waitress was friendly when she took the order, but that was the end of the good experience. We were seated in the very back that was 20 degrees hotter than the front of the restaurant. We all were sweating and almost left. We were here during a heat wave, which didn't help. The food was average at best. The restaurant was not full....and the service was almost non-existent. It took way too long to get food, and most of us ordered shrimp burgers, flounder burgers and cheeseburgers. The shrimp tasted ok, but the sandwich was way too small..about 7 shrimp on a wonder bun. Also, if you order soda, they charge you by the can... And bring out the can for you to open. Our waitress came back to check on us never....and they have the nerve to hand write a 20 percent tip on the bill. I will gladly pay big bucks for food and service, but this place has neither. We will not be back ever again.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kit628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient and no waiting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We passed this restaurant several times on the way to Beaufort to dine. The building is older and classic looking. We decided to try in on a Friday evening when dining in Beaufort would have been a 30 minute drive plus a 40 minute wait at a favorite seafood restaurant. Boy, were we happy! We were seated promptly. The waitress was knowledgeable of the food and trust me, our party of six asked a lot of questions. She certainly earned 20% based on friendliness, knowledge, and promptness in service.
We were just as happy with our food. We ordered a variety of seafood dishes. The crab cakes are the best that I have ever had at a restaurant. They tasted like my mother had made them! The prices were on par for the area. Our evening meal averaged $15-20 among us. Frost also offered breakfast and lunch but we did not time to try these.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ohlatxnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I must say Ive never been to a place where the staff was so friendly! I got a couple of beers and a shrimp burger (my first) and I was very pleased. They also have killer hush puppies! The restaurant decor is a bit dated tho.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frost Seafood House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing