We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out at the beach ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Of Call Restaurant

Port Of Call Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A casual dining restaurant with a panoramic view of beautiful Bogue Sound! Located in the HEART of Salter Path, NC. We offer a mouth-watering menu adorned with certified angus beef, fresh local seafood, traditional Salter Path dishes, and many Port of Call originals. We have all ABC Permits and an extensive beer and wine menu that is sure to please. While you're here, be sure to explore the rich heritage of the Salter Path people and become part of the evolution of this quaint fishing village.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great night out at the beach ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to dinner Saturday night and took my grandson. Had a great meal and wonderful time. Everyone there was attentive to our needs. Even the owner made sure we were happy. The food was great, we will return on our next trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley-Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    23
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad Idea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We dined at this restaurant last week while on vacation in Emerald Isle, NC. I would not do so again. The first sight upon entering the restuarant was a sloppy looking gentleman sitting on a sofa watching the news in the waiting area which is in plain view of the dining room. We were seated on very uncomfortable chairs which were made of cast aluminum, some with seat pads, some not. The menu was very overpriced compared to similar offings at other restaurants. Side dishes were strange, and did not include baked potatoes or fries. The bread consisted of dry biscuits were supposed to be a knock off of Red Lobster cheddar bay biscuits and cold hush puppies shapped like onion rings. Salads were offered for an additional charge and came straight from the bag with a cheery tomatoe. My wife had the crab cakes which were the typical frozen restauarant supply variety. My steak and shrimp dish came in a mystery sauce with cheddar cheese melted over it to mask the overcooked steak and soggy shrimp. A Coke was $2.50 and included one refill only. Pure profit. Last but not least, the check included a mandatory 20% gratuity which was not warranted. Upon leaving the restaurant, the sloppy looking gentleman sitting on the sofa thanked us for coming. Turned out he was the owner. We will not be returning and will warn others to stay away from this establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great way to begin a week at the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate here last year on the last night of our vacation, and it stood out enough for us to go back again the first night of this year's vacation. It's on the waterfront with beautiful views, but once it's dark, you could be anywhere. Every table gets a basket of cheddar garlic biscuits and "Hush puppy donuts" with butter. I adore hush puppies but I really don't care for these things. The biscuits are good. The waitress was extremely friendly and jovial and made for a good experience. The portions are enormous and the seafood is the star of the show. My fried oysters were large, and there must have been two dozen of them. The white cheddar shells are awesome and the cole slaw fresh and crispy. I took home a piece of mud pie for dessert and it too was generous and very good. Only complaint was that it was garnished with whipped cream, which did not stand up to a delay of several hours. Mr. had a huge piece of fresh fish topped with crab and cheese. He was unable to finish, too. There were a variety of dishes at our table of six, and not one complaint. That's quite a feat with our family. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weekend_warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate out at 4 different restaurants over Labor Day weekend, and this is the only one worth returning to. Wonderful food, service, view, and dancing on the dock to live music. All of the food we ordered was fantastic. And they use local seafood. So many places around here don't, which is a crime not to support another local business. We have 2 small kids, and they devoured their food! Great restaurant !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fine port to slip into to wait out hunger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here before and am never disappointed. Their cheddar biscuits are a great start. Ask for a table by the water and glance out over the sound. Great sunsets can be seen from your table or out on the pier to their open air area. The food is fresh, local seafood and very tasty and plentiful. There are plenty of selections for non seafood lovers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Of Call Restaurant also viewed

 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Port Of Call Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing