We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to share with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raven Wines - CLOSED

Raven Wines
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.ravenwines.com.au/home.html
Western Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice spot to share with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose Raven Wines to celebrate my Dad's birthday, and were glad to revisit the winery restaurant after several years. The wine is ok but its not yet award-winning. However, the verdello was the perfect choice on what was a beautiful sunny winter's day - easy to drink, crisp and fruity. Since our last visit the restaurant has opted for a menu of tasting/share plates; a good call I think. The baked ricotta was tasty; coconut prawns and zesty aoli clean and crunchy; roasted pumpkin, pine nut and goats cheese dumplings divine. A couple of dishes on the menu that we ordered were very similar, so the only suggestion to the chef would be to add a little bit more diversity to the menu - some arancini rice balls wouldn't go astray! All in all this is a delightful little spot in Pinjarra and certainly worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazbah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Small modern winery with Tapas style restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Free soupcon wine tasting of 3 less than memorable reds, of which only the Shiraz passed muster.
They'd do better to charge for the tasting and pour decent measures and discount the tasting charge if purchase made.

As for the food, the tapas style lunch menu showed creativity and did not disappoint on taste or presentation and the portions were adequate for 2 persons sharing 3 dishes, although the overall cost for 3 dishes and 2 glasses of wine was steep, by European standards at $80 (£49:00).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First Time But Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great tapas - I mean real tapas. Try the empanadas and the pumpkin dumplings and then pick through the others. The Verdelho was really good at $20 and it's made right there - we had 2 bottles! They have the standard restaurant table settings plus cosy areas - low settees and tables that friends can gather around - a great atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Bali
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food, terrible wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice, stylish place with pretty good food. Worth to go there for a light lunch if you are staying at Lazy River B&B down the street. Not the happiest staff around though.

Unfortunately the wines are terrible... Cant stop to wonder: do they really think it taste good them self? Go to the bottleshop close by instead and get much better local wine for less money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank theoikaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
501 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant on outskirts of Pinjarra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited Raven Wines again and enjoyed lunch here. Note they are only open from Wednesday to Sunday. The restaurant is elegant and the food delicious. In particular we like the Thai fishcakes with a coconut dressing on the coleslaw. However, I had a salad and the dressing was very tart, too much vinegar and not enough olive oil! We enjoy the wines both the verdehlo and tempranillo in particular and always buy a case. Pinjarra is a lovely country town and worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raven Wines also viewed

Pinjarra, Western Australia
Pinjarra, Western Australia
 
Pinjarra, Western Australia
Pinjarra, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing