We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening out”
Review of Ethos Southern Bistro - CLOSED

Ethos Southern Bistro
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Description: Elegant, southern inspired cuisine featuring bold flavors, created using fresh ingredients. Period.Ethos Southern Bistro is dedicated to delivering a dining experience that surpasses guest expectations and is provided by attentive, knowledgable and courteous waitstaff together with the passion and skill of our culinary professionals.Our seasonal Autumn menu offer tastes designed around ingredients that can be grown and purchased from local Salisbury farms and businesses. The daily "Featured Chef Selections" menu showcases creative interpretations of familiar dishes that deliver a new way to taste them.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A pleasant evening out”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited Ethos in celebration of a special birthday. The atmosphere was relaxed with nice contemporary flare. The martini selection was quite impressive as were the appetizers. We all had the chief's recommendation and we're not disappointed. We concluded our dining experience with homemade mint julep up ice cream and bread pudding, both of which we're amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cch9656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a superb restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a wonderful surprise after a frustrating, long drive. Tucked in the heart of town...a superb oasis. Staff, and the waitress were superb..and friendly. I had salmon, (oh gracious, just plain yummy), my husband had pork. Even the chef came out to hear our raves..Another added pleasure was the bar..Great variety in food as well as at the bar. Great music. Fully recommended...don't miss this! The food is an absolute treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsgo452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Southern with Style”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Walking into Ethos, you would expect to find this restaurant in a city much larger than Salisbury. Ethos is modern, clean, and cool. I ordered the special, Southern Cordon Bleu stuffed with pimento cheese, country ham, and corn butter served with manchego grits. The cordon bleu was excellent, as were the manchego grits, which packed a punch of unexpected heat. The service was great, and the extensive drink list had something for everyone! I will definitely return on my next trip to Salisbury!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a stylish resturant”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The place looks like it should be in a magazine. Super cool decor. Great bar area. The drink list is extensive and good. Great small plate appetizers. We got seafood. All were fresh with wonderful sauces. The chef came out to speak to us and gave suggestions for entrees. French press coffee was a great end to a wonderful meal. Excellent wait staff. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank amosrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A sophisticated restaurant in the heart of historic downtown Salisbury. I was by myself and sat at the attractive bar. The service was great and the food selection was extensive. The overall quality of the experience and food was very good especially for a small town.

Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethos Southern Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing