We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will stretch and give excellent rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivan's Restaurant

Ivan's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 173 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine Dining in a Relaxed and Casual Atmosphere
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,272 reviews
1,097 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“I will stretch and give excellent rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is hard to get my excellent rating, I considered going very good, but have to reward effort and taste. And consider the area - other options/competition. The peanuts-on-floor atmosphere of the bar makes a nice mis-match with wooden dining room and finely prepared steaks. Staff is friendly and attentive. We started with beers in bar, then apps at table. Beer and cheese soup was an excellent flavor - good to share for two, because the main meal is coming. But not unitl after salads - which were very nice [included]. We also had the crab dip app - which was good, though not exceptional. I had a filet Pittsburgh style filet - which I learned was seared in very hot cast iron pan - rare in middle. Only real draw back on the night was that my steak was only warm. It should have came out straight from pan - sizzling. But if that was the only negative, I guess they deserve excellent rating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    17
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“your go-to place for steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is nothing not to like about Ivan's. It serves fine food, yet it is not pretentious. It's been run by the same family for many years. Great little bar, too, with buckets of shelled peanuts. For Salisbury, it's one of the pricier restaurants, so for some people, it's the place to go for birthdays, anniversaries, special occasions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I love Ivan's. This place has some of the best food around the area. The staff is always extra friendly and they always are willing to go the extra mile to make your experience enjoyable. I always have the filet and it is always good.

The spicy sautéed mushrooms and appetizer shrimp is also the best I have ever eaten.

Always recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoynerTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went to Ivan's to celebrate my birthday with my husband. Wonderful food, wonderful service, and good value for the money. I had the small filet migon with fresh vegetables and a salad with parmesean peppercorn dressing and my husband had the salmon with lime sauce, baked potato and salad with Ivan's homemade honey mustard dressing. Both were fantastic but next time I will have the salmon and the honey mustard dressing!! Salmon was perfectly seared and the dressing was fabulous. The steak was wonderful as well! Bread was served HOT and they even served a lime sorbet to cleanse the palate after our salad course. Had the Chocolate Bomb for desert and it was light and refreshing, not too much if shared!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
339 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great food to drive the distance for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We drive 30 - 45 minutes (depending on where each of us lives) to go dine at Ivan's. If you want a great steak with a fine dining experience (without find dining prices), this is the place to go.

We are treated like family every time we visit and I cannot say enough great things about the level of service from the owner.

Most recently, had the lobster bisque (wish it had larger chunks of lobster in it), but it was great nonetheless. This place also has probably the best grilled shrimp around (large and tasty).

It may be slightly off the beaten path, but well worth the drive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinasunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ivan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing