We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merredin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merredin
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My first time in Merredin was on the 31st of October 2013, there was a Frocktober event held at this hotel on the 1st of November and we attended this event. Our initial first impression of the hotel was just like being welcomed home after being away for so long by the wonderful staff member behind the counter whom was all smiles and very informative. Our room was incredibly neat, tidy and amazingly clean. The bathroom was immaculate and the room itself was a great size, the air conditioning was fantastic as it was so hot and the tv made you feel as though you were in the cinemas.

The restaurant was again so country like and such a variety on the menu, the pool was very welcoming even though I didn't take my bathers and the surroundings were very tidy. I was so impressed. The beds were very comfortable and it was very quiet. I had the pleasure in meeting the owner the very next day and she was very professional and yet very friendly to the extent that I felt she was a long lost friend.

The event held at the hotel was impressive and the town folk that attended were very warm and welcoming. The hotel put on a great show which was organised by another lady in town. I will definitely be staying there again when another event takes place. I understand that there are plans to improve the hotel again and it is nice to see progress in a lovely friendly, country town.

.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the end room of the hotel so you only have 1 neighbour and the air conditioner is above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
22
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here recently. Check in was efficient and one of the 3 owners, Shelley, welcomed us to the property. The rooms are in need of refurbishment but are clean and the queen size bed was comfortable. Bathroom and kitchen are basic. A good continental breakfast tray is available for a modest charge. We dined at the Gumtree restaurant and this has been refurbished, redecorated and is a good place to eat and sit for a while. The menu is standard country town fare but was well cooked and a good feed. The motel staff were welcoming and helpful. The renovations and refurbishment is a work in progress. A good place to stay if you need a short stop in Merredin.

Room Tip: All rooms have noise from the railway that is nearby so if you are a light sleeper, bring some ear p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We weren't expecting much from this place so in that sense we weren't disappointed. Unfortunately the night we chose today seemed to occur on the same night as an all night bush rave. Due to the lack of soundproofing we were kept awake most of the night by the incredibly loud music and the sound of trains going past (the motel is right next to the railway tracks). We were also looking forward to eating at the restaurant and had our food picked out beforehand, unfortunately it seemed all the staff were catering for an event (probably where the music was coming from) so we ended up going to the local pub instead. The only time I saw any staff was when we signed out of the hotel in the morning and they seemed friendly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant was an ideal stopover for us. Shelley greeted us on arrival and was just delightful! We slept in room 12 which had a queen sized bed & a single. All the mattresses were new & so very, very comfortable & lovely fresh crisp bed linen ensured a great night sleep. The bathroom was small & un-renovated as yet, but they are working to do these up soon. There is a fridge, microwave & some basic kitchen utensils if you require eating in.

Jodie, Nola & Shelley are the new proprietors & they are doing a great job in doing up this small hotel, it’s looking great. There is a very popular restaurant at the hotel, which is a huge plus.

We’d like to publicly thank the proprietors for their generosity during our stay. We would highly recommend a stopover at the Merredin Motel – you certainly won’t be disappointed.

Tom, Carmel & Grace

(Tom’s Next Step – Running 26,000 km around the world)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Ritz is isn't; but it does not pretend to be or charge like it either. Myself and a colleague spent a night in a room each. Large, oldy-worldy but clean and tidy for sure. A most pleasant and helpful receptionist provided us with maps and advice as well. As a one-stop sleepover spot on a hot, dusty journey - it hit the spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed at this motel several times and now with the new owners the motel is just the best for the area. Comfortable rooms,friendly and helpful staff and most the helpful friendly management. The meals are just brilliant. I had lunch and dinner whilst staying 4 nights on this visit. Oh and don't forget the coffee and cake available during the day.Looking forward to my next stay.Noted that WIFI now available to but didn't use it as had my own connection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

What was previously a tired hotel is being transformed into a more presentable and appealing place to stay. The new owner, a builder, seems to have a handle on what constitutes quality accommodation for weary travellers on the long haul between Perth and the eastern states.
What really surprised us was the high standard of the restaurant meals - very impressive, even though it might be a bit pricier than you'd expect in a country town.
In all, quite a surprise packet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thelonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merredin
0.0 mi away
Mary's Farm Cottages
Mary's Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Lake Grace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant

Property: Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant
Address: 30-34 Gamenya Ave, Merredin, Western Australia 6415, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Merredin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merredin
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing