We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a let down”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merredin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merredin
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We weren't expecting much from this place so in that sense we weren't disappointed. Unfortunately the night we chose today seemed to occur on the same night as an all night bush rave. Due to the lack of soundproofing we were kept awake most of the night by the incredibly loud music and the sound of trains going past (the motel is right next to the railway tracks). We were also looking forward to eating at the restaurant and had our food picked out beforehand, unfortunately it seemed all the staff were catering for an event (probably where the music was coming from) so we ended up going to the local pub instead. The only time I saw any staff was when we signed out of the hotel in the morning and they seemed friendly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant was an ideal stopover for us. Shelley greeted us on arrival and was just delightful! We slept in room 12 which had a queen sized bed & a single. All the mattresses were new & so very, very comfortable & lovely fresh crisp bed linen ensured a great night sleep. The bathroom was small & un-renovated as yet, but they are working to do these up soon. There is a fridge, microwave & some basic kitchen utensils if you require eating in.

Jodie, Nola & Shelley are the new proprietors & they are doing a great job in doing up this small hotel, it’s looking great. There is a very popular restaurant at the hotel, which is a huge plus.

We’d like to publicly thank the proprietors for their generosity during our stay. We would highly recommend a stopover at the Merredin Motel – you certainly won’t be disappointed.

Tom, Carmel & Grace

(Tom’s Next Step – Running 26,000 km around the world)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Ritz is isn't; but it does not pretend to be or charge like it either. Myself and a colleague spent a night in a room each. Large, oldy-worldy but clean and tidy for sure. A most pleasant and helpful receptionist provided us with maps and advice as well. As a one-stop sleepover spot on a hot, dusty journey - it hit the spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed at this motel several times and now with the new owners the motel is just the best for the area. Comfortable rooms,friendly and helpful staff and most the helpful friendly management. The meals are just brilliant. I had lunch and dinner whilst staying 4 nights on this visit. Oh and don't forget the coffee and cake available during the day.Looking forward to my next stay.Noted that WIFI now available to but didn't use it as had my own connection.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What was previously a tired hotel is being transformed into a more presentable and appealing place to stay. The new owner, a builder, seems to have a handle on what constitutes quality accommodation for weary travellers on the long haul between Perth and the eastern states.
What really surprised us was the high standard of the restaurant meals - very impressive, even though it might be a bit pricier than you'd expect in a country town.
In all, quite a surprise packet!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thelonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have not stayed here for a couple of years but I know that it has been recently purchased by some new owners and is ungoing extensive rennovations - they have even cut down a couple of the big Gumtrees in front of the Motel - might have to chage their name!
Tried to get in there this week but it was booked out!
Merredin is SCREAMING out for some decent accommodation, I am hoping this will deliver - only negative is that there are not many rooms here!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Eliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our overnight stay between Perth and Kalgoorlie . Plus points: a very comfortable bed, big screen TV, air conditioning, good sized room, friendly staff, good dinner. Minus points: the rooms are dated and runcible, walls could be thicker and freight trains pass every few hours (but we like freight trains!). Good value.

Room Tip: Set your GPS to find number 10, not the official new number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profitpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant

Address: 30-34 Gamenya Ave, Merredin, Western Australia 6415, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Merredin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merredin
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing