We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short stay to explore Merredin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merredin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merredin
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay to explore Merredin”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a great little motel this is. Look past the older furnishings and the occasional noise from the next room and this has a wonderful, old style, friendly feel about it. Spotlessly clean rooms. Kevin the host is definitely worth having a chat to. His knowledge of Merredin is second to none and his passion for Merredin and its many highlights will be of interest to any tourist. The restaurant within the motel is cosy and like coming into your own home. The service was first rate and friendly and the Chef (Paul) delivers excellent quality, homestyle meals. Everything about this motel screams old style and what a pleasure it was to stay there. Some of the more modern motels I have stayed at could learn a thing or two about service and value for money from this place. I cannot speak highly enough of this little gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SideshowBob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
22
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

My Partner and I stayed overnight in Merredin as we wanted to see the Military Museum. The Motel is very quaint with old furniture. It is however very very clean with kitchen facilities. Although the furniture is old it would be nice to take some out to make use of the space! The bed was comfortable with electric blankets. The walls are very thin though so we did wake up when the guests next door arrived back! Overall compared to other accomodation available I think this is the best of the bunch. Don't regret staying at the motel at all. Merriden as a town however, did not have much to attract it other than the museums!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DogsWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I found this to be a great motel.
I loved the pool, the room itself was cozy and clean.
I was happy with the water pressure and the amenities such as aircon, mini kitchen, bathroom, tea and coffee, mini fridge.
Great price.....very happy.
The motel has a great Restaurant and the Chef did a wonderful job with our meals. 10/10 and great value.
I would definately come again with my partner and highly reccomend this motel.
I couldnt fault anything, especially being a motel. I knew what to expect but this was a better experience than most motels Ive stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kell2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Western Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed at the motel for 2 nights with 3 adults, 2 teenagers, a 2yo and 5 mth old. The facilities were good, the service great and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The facilities arent modern but are in very good condition and suit the quaint buildings.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant is a sixties style motel, the old flat roofed cement sheet jobs! Never the less, the room was spacious and clean, it has air con, TV, refrig etc, great water pressure in the shower, and the meals are excellent. No phone or internet. If I was only rating it on facilities and decore, it would be a 2.5 star .

Old fashioned country hospitality. Don't expect the Ritz, but a safe and welcoming place to stay.

There is not much to do or see in Merredin! Unless you're working there, it's a stop over only on the way to somewhere else. Surprisingly big town with good shopping/banking centre.

  • Liked — Cheap! Good food, frieldly staff
  • Disliked — Old establishment, tired rooms, no internet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant

Property: Merredin Motel & Gumtree Restaurant
Address: 30-34 Gamenya Ave, Merredin, Western Australia 6415, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Merredin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merredin
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing