We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Wedding Anniversary Road Trip Perth - Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fitzroy River Lodge
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A huge complex with motel units, studio's overlooking the river, camping and caravan sites right beside the river.

Well groomed grounds with lots of activities and space.

Rooms are well above the ground in case of flooding but with good walkways to the restaurant pool and bar areas.

Nice views in the units facing the road which is well away. Pleasant sunset while we were there due to the fires that were still smoldering around the district.

Good, reasonably priced food.

Lots of history, old town was located at the back of the lodge complex.

Old cemetery across the river only has gate entrance and depressions where the graves were, it has been flooded several times, worth a look and you will be amazed thatit could be flooded and hence why your room is up on poles.

Geikie Gorge is definitely worth doing. Spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 423 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I paid $155 for one third of a portacabin with no carpet, a tv with a week signal, smoke alarm hanging from the roof and an aircon unit that made the walls vibrate therefore unusable. The bar and veranda were expensive and with the cheapest plastic garden funiture all delightfully engraved with graffiti. When I complained they smiled with a take it or leave attitude knowing there was no alternative and I could drive no more. Shameful discourteous rip off, unless you are on your knees keep driving O and when I asked about the tents they informed me they had not had a snake in one for at least 2 months! Staffed by fools

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyPattinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The beds were comfortable we only stayed one night so it was not to bad in fitzroy crossing there is not a lot of choice and this would be on the top of my list if I am ever in fitzroy crossing again. We had a 2 bedroom appartment. The room overall was clean but there was cockroach poo down the wall and mouse poo on the edge of the tiles above the kitchen bench so just a little more attention to detail with the. Leaning is needed but overall it was comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Truly, yes an oasis! We stayed here after a long, long day in the bus on our Kimberley tour. Rooms very good, as are the bar and restaurant. Unfortunately there was a terrible smell of smoke from the deliberately lit bushfires all the way from Halls Creek to Fitzroy Crossing.
This appears to be a very well run establishment with a no nonsense approach to nuisance behaviour. I noted the security guard outside the bar, and all the warnings about anti-social behaviour.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here three times now, with a group and on my own, and it impresses me a lot. If only all campsites were like this one! There is a dedicated unpowered tent only area, nice and grassy with some shade. The site opens onto the bush so a great location, with excellent facilities and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here after reading between the reviews and also by talking to local shop keepers. The site is well run, the welcome nice, the site clean and vast. The cost was reasonable for the area. we had unpowered for $30 per night, you could also park on two large unpowered areas wherever you wanted to. The pool was cool but refreshing. The food was also good but we would agree it is a tad expensive as the portion size especially on the 'specials' are not very large. In fact a 'sausage baguette with red onions' turned out to be a small sausage in a small roll and for $12 we thought that was a bit much... the caretaker works hard and the maintenance team are clearly visiable all day and it shows.... The boat ride on the Geike Gorge (lasts an hour) is also a nice way to spend half a day. Check out the times though as sometimes the rides are reduced in number. Shopping locally is limited (IGA) and quite costly. The site itself is busy but peaceful, clean and well kept.. Be mindful of the 2% credit charge on anything you put on a card, but when you cost it out its proberly not worth getting teasy about, would be better if price was inclusive though as this charge was clearly a bone of contention for many campers and visitors. Other sites manage to cover there costs within what they charge, but there did seem to be a bit added on to what ever you did on this site. Reception staff dont seem to be aware of local areas and next towns etc....which was not overly helpful, but they were all nice just not well informed...We would stay here again and did enjoy our stay...

Room Tip: Its worth staying unpowered if you are in a tent as the facilities are good and there is lots of pow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were just passing through and booked this place judging by the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. The camp kitchen was fantastic, lots of room in the fridge and freezer, plus electric cookers a d microwaves. There was plenty of room to pick a site on the soft grass rather than red dirt. The staff were friendly and the bar staff were great, good tips on cider and they even had the AFL on the big screen! Geikie Gorge is worth a visit before you leave!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzroy River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy River Lodge

Address: 277 Great Northern Highway, Fitzroy Crossing, Western Australia 6765, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Fitzroy River Lodge)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Fitzroy Crossing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fitzroy Crossing
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitroy River Lodge is located in the heart of the Kimberley, only 2.6km from the Fitzroy Crossing Town Centre (with extensive IGA Supermarket) and 18km from Geikie Gorge National Park. Situated on the banks of the mighty Fitzroy River, Fitzroy River lodge offers a wide range of accommodation to suit all travellers. At the Fitzroy River Lodge you can relax on 50 acres of natural bushland with shady trees, landscaped gardens and plentiful wildlife. Traditional rooms feature flat-screen TV, Wifi (fee), hardwood floor, ensuite, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities. Riverview Studios add whirlpool bath, balcony and BBQ. 2 bedroom apartments have full kitchen and living area. Room service is available to these rooms only. There are also Boab rooms (budget accommodation) with TV, ensuite and air conditioning. Safari tents with ensuite are available for refined camping. The extensive campground accommodates for both powered and unpowered site requests. Geikie Gorge and Historic Town Tours are run from the property approximately May through to October. Facilities include fuel, swimming pool, tennis court, fine dining in the Riverside Restaurant with al fresco deck overlooking the grounds, Lounge Bar with deck, conference/meeting room, WiFi (fee), coin laundry, camp kitchen and caravan storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzroy River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing