We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Loose Goose Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Esperance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $53
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bar open at 4pm daily
Esperance, Australia
1 review
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We we're hoping for a special meal whilst visiting Esperance and booked as advised. We were apprehensive on arrival about the curious decor, cheap cutlery and vinyl chairs. While the menu offered a variety of meat-centred dishes the number of fresh, interesting options was limited. The stodgy, creamy vegetarian meals we ordered were carelessly presented and uninteresting. For $57 per person for 2 courses our special meal out in Esperance was woeful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    100
    38
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Look beyond the decor.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I almost gave this small restaurant a miss, as it looks more like a cafe/bar than a restaurant. Luckily, we did enquire about a booking ... and luckily we were able to get a table early that same evening. The food was lovely, the staff were friendly, and the owner/chef was attentive to his kitchen and his customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVDPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a small town”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

From the outside the Loose Goose doesn't look anything out of the ordinary, but inside the food and service sparkle.The service came with a smile and obvious knowledge of the menu - the food was stunning. The menu offers a choice of one,two or three courses for set prices, this comes with bread and salad as standard and, in our view, justified the cost.
We had two visits to the restaurant during our stay in Esperance and sampled a variety of delights,from scallops- grilled and sashimi to duck knuckles,snapper tom yum style and pork filet mignon, we really couldn't fault anything.
A nice choice of cocktails and wines in a cosy and friendly atmosphere rounded off two excellent evenings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This restaurant is a little different, a little expensive but well worth it. The food was interesting and very, very good. This restaurant could hold its own anywhere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baaalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
“worth the ride”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Have wanted to eat here for years, so rode out new motorbikes from Albany for the night. Luckily we got a table and every good thing we have heard about this restaurant was true. The service was fantastic, food excellent, the company wonderful. Could not fault this place. Great to be able to chose 1,2 or 3 courses. Three of us had 2 course and1 had 3 course. Good value, nice wine choice and would ride the 480km for dinner again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustlersAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loose Goose Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Esperance, Western Australia
 

Been to Loose Goose Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing